We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not So Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Coventry East (Ansty) Hotel
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not So Premier Inn”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A very run down property that needs some major work. We stayed over the night of the Bruce Springsteen concert at the Ricoh arena - very handy for this being only 1 junction away on the M6.
Our room was tiny and extremely warm. Fairly clean but the bathroom looked like something out of the 1970's - small shower cubicle (no bath) and a wash basin barely at knee height, again fairly clean but some black mould in the shower - not good.
The staff however were very good and when we mentioned how poor the room was our money was refunded within an hour.
It was slightly disturbing that you talk to the reception staff through a glass screen like that in a bank...
Overall a very poor property that does not fit well into the premier inn group.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Coventry East (Ansty) Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    55
    27
    21
    10
See reviews for
53
59
6
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We use all the nearby PI as we often visit family nearby. but this is the first time we have been here. It really is tucked away and it took me ages to find it. Really good sized room and a Massive bed, it was another good nights sleep. Breakfast was top notch with nothing too much for the staff, who made a fuss over my son! Very good value, we shall stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhershon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at this PI over the w/e. We are frequent users of this type of accommodation so feel we have a sound knowledge base on which to form our opinions. The building is in a peaceful location surrounded by fields, although our view was the car park (no problem as I could see my vehicle from the window. The reception staff were really nice and friendly, speaking to your every time you moved out through reception. Our room was OK. Clean, although a little warn in places such as marks on the furniture and carpet but nothing to be too concerned about. The bathroom and towels were fresh and clean. My only concern when we walked in was the my daughter's bed was a mattress on the floor!!! We were a little stunned by this and after some discussion (she did not want to make a fuss) she slept in the queen size bed with me. This was fine for us but might have caused some problems for others. I did mention this to the receptionist on leaving and she apologized and said she would make a note for the manager.

This incident would not prevent us staying again galvanized by the fact that the location is so peaceful. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwiftNickLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had a good stay as usual with Premier. Slight problem of no hot water in the morning but had an engineer out fixing it ... it happens ... Staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. Very good food and bar on site. We always stay with Premier if we can.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stay a minimum of one night per week in Coventry due to business commitments, and until recently it was always as the Ramada £65 R/O. Noting wrong with that as per previous comments, but I fancied a change - away from the city, somewhere smaller perhaps.

This place is 7 miles from Coventry City Centre, in village of Ansty, 2-minutes form the Rolls Royce factory. I agree it does remind you of some US motels, as al 26 rooms are in a square surrounding the car park.

It is not the most modern hotel, and some would say it could do with a refurbishment, but rooms are spotless and staff very helpful/friendly.

Next door is Brewers Fayre pub serving good pub food at very reasonable prices - and again staff amongst best I've ever met in thousands of hotels over 40 years of travelling.

So in summary - if you want a decent room for circa £60 + pub food, and friendly staff - within 15-20 minutes travel to centre of Coventry by car - look no further. I wasn't looking for a budget hotel, I wanted to escape city centre tower blocks - and I did.

I'll be back next week, and again after that . . .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here. The good things about premier inn's is that they always meet a minimum standard and are clean and tidy.

This inn is a little different to most as it is all on a ground floor with a car park in the middle of the hotel and a glass co oridoor going around to all the rooms.

The rooms themselves are clean and tidy however, because of the layout there is no window which you can open - the window look into the public co oridoor mentioned above, of which you would keep the curtain closed to stop passersby looking in. There are extractor fans to circulate air flow however as it is not natural ventilation the bathroom smelt a little off. Just a strange layout.

reception is also behind a glass screen like a bank, the hotel is in the country a few miles out from Coventry so might be for security. At night there is an access controlled entrance where one needs to buzz in to get the car in, so relativly safe.

usual brewers fayre attached to the side.

Not a bas stay just a shame the way it is layed out so cannot have any windows for natural ventilation

Room Tip: I think all rooms are the same and do not have a window that opens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_Williams_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

On arrival at this Premier Inn resembles an American motel with all rooms facing the car park with a glazed walkway. This is the only time I have seen reception protected by a glass screen similar to a bank which was a bit concerning although the area seems very pleasant, perhaps its because the hotel is quite remote situated on a quiet country lane. Room was very dated although all normal facilities were present. Adjacent Brewers Fayre was as expected and a useful facility to have on the doorstep. Would use this hotel again even though its not a very good example of a modern Premier Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaldonsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry East (M6,Jct2) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry East (Binley/A46) Hotel
1.4 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Coventry East (Ansty) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Coventry East (Ansty) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Coventry East (Ansty) Hotel
Address: Coombe Fields Road | Ansty, Coventry CV7 9JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Coventry East (Ansty) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the quiet village on Ansty, The Sparrow Brewers Fayre and Premier Inn offers comfortable accomodation and Classic Food at Tasty Prices! The restaurant can cater to large groups as well as offer a seperate menu for corporate functions or parties. There is an external childrens play area to keep the kids entertained as well as a pool table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Coventry East (Ansty) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing