We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I wasn't the vegan!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Attended this hotel as part of a convention. There were so many of us that we actually stayed in the sister hotel, a short car drive away, and spent the days here. The food for the gala dinner on the Saturday evening was wonderful, fresh, tasty and plenty of it. The Sunday lunch was actually superb! best gravy I'd had in years, and the fruit crumble was to die for! Staff were friendly helpful and apparently unflappable in the face of so many people- several of which hadn't booked! The only downside was the fact that my vegan colleague spent the entire weekend eating mainly tasteless food, thrown together at the last minute, and served to her, mostly when the rest of the table had finished. She HAD booked, and had stated her dietary needs, and although she was philosophical, the rest of our group were most indignant on her behalf, and the fact we didn't get to eat all at the same time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NannyNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 986 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

Staff on the whole very friendly, room spacious, bed comfy pool and grounds excellent BUT breakfast is billed as being served 7 to 10 am but on the day we were there they had shut down by 9.45. We got there at 9.30 and had to locate, clear and re-lay our table despite one of the staff saying they would be with us. No offer of coffee, no bowls, glasses immediately to hand. By the time we had a bowl no food either.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Gillian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay and I do apologise for your disappointment regarding breakfast, I can assure you this will be looked into so our service is improved.

Again please accept my apologies for this and we do hope you will visit us again soon.

Regards

John Hawley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a friends birthday celebrations, stayed in the outside lodges which were very clean and well maintained. The staff were very helpful in arranging surprise buckets of prosecco on ice to our rooms whilst we were having dinner and TOM the night shift worker could not have made our stay any more enjoyable, very professional yet still friendly. Would definitely come back again!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Slyleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay, it is great to read you had such a good time, your comments will be passed through to the whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

John Hawley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We arrived late and I had 3 minutes to put my case in the lodge room. Reception assured me that the bed was a good size, but it was minute. A very small single.
As preperation for a Monastic life, the room size could have been attractive,but otherwise it would be considered as minuscule.
I experienced a very poor nights sleep and a much earlier awakening than I needed.
The main building seemed less noisy and the staff generally were helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Keep away from the lodges by the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veterantravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to apologise for your disappointment concerning your room, your comments have been passed through to all concerned to ensure this is looked at and that improvements can be made.

Again please accept my apologies.

Regards

John Hawley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Me and my husband recently got married at this hotel on the 19th April 2014. I stayed over the night before and had the luxury of visiting the pool and Jacuzzi. The facilities were clean and well kept. We had a evening meal in the hotel restaurant and the food was of a very high quality and the staff were very pleasant and catered to our needs. The room we stayed in was clean and had an amazing view of the golf course. I would recommend this hotel if you were thinking of a place to get married. All our needs were met and the day went brilliantly well and most of it was down to Helen Farnsworth and Mark Taylor. They both made sure we were happy with the way the day was going and they also made sure our guests felt welcome. They made our wedding perfect and we cant thank them enough for the amazing job they did. The food again was of a high standard and all of our guest commented on how lovely it was, the service we received through out the sit down meal was quick and professional the waiting staff were pleasant and added to the experience. The hotel grounds were kept beautifully so we could have perfect pictures and we were even allowed to have our photo’s taken down by the lake. The hotel has a lovely chapel which is separate from the main building and only used for weddings, this is what made us choose this wonderful hotel as we were not shoved in a conference room like most hotels, the chapel made our wedding that extra bit special. Breakfast in the morning was super and very warm and had a wide range of selection, again the staff were brilliant. Thank you Windmill Hotel for giving us a special day to remember forever.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments concering your wedding, it is great to see you had such a great day, your comments has been passed through to Helen and Mark and all of our staff which worked on the day.

We do hope you will visit us again soon.

Regards

John Hawley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

9.95 for 2 courses was a good deal and the meal was very enjoyable turkey, beef or pork with a good selection of new and roast pots, peas, carrots, ratatouille, cabbage, parsnips, pigs in blankets, stuffing and Yorkshire. All were tasty. Apple sauce was nice with a flavour of cinnamon.

Restaurant was clean and service was good, fairly busy with more than 3 quarters of the tables taken (we booked)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank thumbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments concerning your Sunday lunch in our Fairways Restaurant, it is great to see you had such a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

John Hawley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Excellent Hotel. Staff were really friendly, and hotel was very clean. Stayed with my Sister in a Twin room. All usual expected facilities but with an added bonus, we had an amazing view from our room with patio doors leading to a small patio with furniture. Sitting out in the sun was perfect ! Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank I N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments it is great to see you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again soon.

Regards

John Hawley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,459 reviews
6.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
7.4 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,059 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Jacobean Hotel
The Jacobean Hotel
#18 of 39 in Coventry
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa

Address: Birmingham Road | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9AL, England (Formerly Windmill Village Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#8 Family Hotel in Coventry
#11 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: $53 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the most luxurious rooms available for weekend breaks and business stays in the Birmingham, Coventry, Solihull and the NEC area. Unlike most luxury hotels we also boast golf courses, a health club and a leisure club. You will find that unlike most hotels you will have the opportunity to relax, play sport and dine in fine style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Windmill Village Hotel Golf And Leisure Club
Windmill Village Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing