We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Visited weekend previous, with the guys from the Kingsbury BSAC dive club. Had a little activity to do complete concerning one of the lakes, a picturesque hazard near the 7th tee.

We had built up a good thirst, and sampled the Church End Brewery 'Goats Milk' and 'Poachers Pocket', which really hit the spot. The staff were very kind and helpful, and we stopped for a spot of dinner. Enjoyed by all of the guys, i had the steak pie, which though plain looking was an oral masterpiece.

Puds available, couldn't manage one..
Great visit, well worth a visit. Good grounds / views across the valley, kind and friendly service, good ales, great food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrollJagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 974 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for an event in a family of two adults and two children. Parking was fine, checking in was quick and easy and our room was lovely. Huge bed and two singles for the kids. Bathroom nice and clean but the shower was little more then a dribble. Great facilities in the room including tea / coffee, ironing board and iron and so on. Lovely goodies in the bathroom! Lovely view over the golf course. Very happy with our stay and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentFamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

our charity selected this hotel to host our 20th Anniversary Celebrations prior to an outdoor event the next day. We booked 48 rooms for a variety of multiple occupancies. The booking ran smoothly with NO mistakes, or glitches - which is very rare in our experience. The reception staff were delightful, friendly and professional,
We hosted an evening event in the Windmill suite which was a great experience. The staff were so good, coped brilliantly with our many guests and nothing was too much trouble for them. None of our guests had any complaints - other than warm rooms - which was inevitable in a freak heatwave in the UK ! but fans were available from reception.
On the whole we had a wonderful visit and will be using the hotel and facilities again - and I hope we have the same staff again - their helpfulness, cheerfulness and professionalism is a rarity in the UK these days - well done Julie and Racheal on your teams - they are fab!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked as a Golf weekend for a few friends. The hotel in itself is ok, but we felt partially let down. Booked as 5 single occupancy and 1 double and paid for supplement for all 5 singles. What you do not expect (3 of us) is to have paid a supplement and given a single room. Thankfully a compromise was reached and the supplement was waived and allowed against our bar bills. Possibly would not normally have happened, but this weekend the hotel was crammed with a couple of golf groups and a large wedding party.

Cannot fault the cleanliness of the rooms and dining area, but the bar needs to learn to clean the tables not just wipe the spilled booze around leaving them tacky.

As others have inferred, the price of drinks is a little high, but it appears that all hotels are there to overcharge and take the mick.

The golf course is not the longest in the world, but if you do go expect the weekend warriors t o hold you up - again much like other resort golf courses.

As a group we would not go again, mainly due to having had better experiences around the midlands for around the same price. I'd play the golf course again, but it would need to be on a weekday, without the 'slow coaches' that weekends tend to bring.

To sum up - make sure you know what you are getting regarding rooms, and expect a slower round of golf at the weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golferat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Was very surprised with the quality given the rate we paid. Room over looking the 1st hole on the golf course, use of leisure facilities, excellent breakfast. Wish I had time to use the bar!

I found the room to be very hot but its not often UK gets a summer!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanr1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here as a group of 4 on a golfing break a couple of months ago and although the Golf side of the trip was perfect we felt the hotel let itself down on a few points. These points were later raised with the hotel management and we were invited back to show that these points were a one off and not the normal standard for the hotel.

I'm pleased to say that it must have been a one off as having returned last week from basically the same break as before it was how it should be.

Before travelling I did phone and request an early check in and rooms in the main part of the hotel. This was all in place on arrival and made it a nice relaxed start to the first round of Golf that afternoon.

The Golf course itself is well kept, well thought out & although not the longest course in the world it has a great balance of "Risk & Reward". There's a few bits of water to cross and a couple of good dog legs.The Pro shop is staffed by friendly faces willing to give any course advice you need and as one of our party found out also sells a good range of golf trousers!

The Greenkeepers staff also have a good sense of humour as when we were teeing off on the 18th they dismounted their "buggies" and stood out of the way as not to be a distraction. Although this didn't help one of our party as he managed to hit one of said buggies and his tee shot came back towards us much to ours but not his amusement!

The rooms were of a modern standard, clean and well maintained. Three of our group had ground floor rooms with patio doors, a small terrace with furniture to sit outside in the sunshine. My room was on the reception level and had a lovely balcony overlooking the 1st hole.

Dinner was of a very good standard far above what you'd stereotypically expect from a "Best Western". The steaks were excellent and service in the restaurant fast & efficient. This was mainly due to Nicki the waitress going like "sonic the hedgehog". Apparently there were 2 restaurant staff & 2 Bar staff for over 100 guests so well done to them!

The Cellar Bar is clean and comfortable and drinks are reasonably priced. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and hot.

Checkout was again smooth and efficient.

So to summarise I can safely say our first visit was a one off and is no way the usual standard and we are currently looking at dates to return again in September time.

Thanks for a great Golf break.

Room Tip: Call ahead and get one in the main hotel overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pault1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

One of the few places i felt at home with staff happy and very helpful,the golf course very good the food and drink abit pricey but all in all aplace that i and my group of golfers would and will return WELL DONE windmill village

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPHdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,346 reviews
6.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
7.4 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,005 reviews
7.3 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa

Address: Birmingham Road | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9AL, England (Formerly Windmill Village Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#8 Family Hotel in Coventry
#11 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: $78 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the most luxurious rooms available for weekend breaks and business stays in the Birmingham, Coventry, Solihull and the NEC area. Unlike most luxury hotels we also boast golf courses, a health club and a leisure club. You will find that unlike most hotels you will have the opportunity to relax, play sport and dine in fine style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Windmill Village Hotel Golf And Leisure Club
Windmill Village Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing