We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have I got Smews for you”

Brandon Marsh Nature Reserve
Ranked #11 of 82 things to do in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Brandon Marsh Nature Centre is the headquarters of the Warwickshire Wildlife Trust. Set in 220 acres, the Reserve, consists of large pools created by gravel extraction. The Visitor Centre is a great place to visit including a Tea Room and well stocked gift shop. Around the Centre you'll find the orchard, mouse maze, mini-beast homes, bird watching hides, recycled garden and a newly designed sensory garden (link to sensory garden project page) as well as an under-cover picnic area. Then it's off to the Onyx Nature Trail which guides you around the wildlife habitats of the nature reserve. The Reserve This reserve contains large areas of pools created by gravel extraction. It consists of reedbeds, willow carr, grassland and woodland. It is outstanding for birds and there are seven bird hides throughout the reserve. Gift Shop and Badgers Tearoom At the end of your visit what could be nicer than a cup of tea or snack in our 'Badgers' Tea Room and a leisurely browse around our gift shop. The shop is well stocked with animal homes, bird seed, bird feeders and an extensive range of gifts and books. The tearoom serves a variety of hot and cold beverages, fresh cakes, and a comprehensive menu of snacks and meals. The Education Centre Brandon Marsh Nature Centre includes the Lafarge Education Centre - a purpose-built classroom, home to School Visits to Brandon for a variety of curriculum-related activities. We also have children's activities during the school holidays, and even Really Wild Birthday Parties! For grown-ups we also have a programme of Events and guided walks. The Sensory Garden After 1500 volunteer hours, the first chapter in the story of how our garden grew is complete with the official opening of the Sensory Garden at Brandon Marsh Visitor Centre on 19th May 2012.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

A fantastic place to spend a few hours with the binoculars whether you're a beginner or more experienced birder. Varied habitats and great hides with identification aides in them if you're struggling. Cafe is friendly and brilliantly priced; worth going for that alone. The shop is extensive and library full of good stuff too. Just need some tlc on a few areas around the visitor centre that are looking tired.

2  Thank BigMisterJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarksWildlifeTrust, Communications Assistant at Brandon Marsh Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hi,

Thanks for your very kind review, I'm glad that there are so many aspects of Brandon Marsh that you enjoy. I'll pass your comments about the Visitor Centre to my colleagues - we are always looking for our visitors' input in how we can improve. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Emma Richmond
Communications Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 151 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

I went as part of a school trip and I was impressed by the small but lovely nature reserve. Didn't see many birds with so many kids (surprise!), but the pond dipping was something they loved and there was much we didn't explore. We plan to return in the summer for further exploration!

Thank Cjs_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarksWildlifeTrust, Communications Assistant at Brandon Marsh Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hi,

I'm glad you enjoyed your trip, and hopefully next time you visit you'll be able to coax out a few more birds! It's nice to hear that the children enjoyed their time here too. Thanks again for your review.

Emma Richmond
Communications Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Beautifully set out and with lots to look at, Brandon Marsh nature reserve is a must for all animal-lovers! :o) Well worth a visit or two.

Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarksWildlifeTrust, Communications Assistant at Brandon Marsh Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your very kind review. It sounds like you're a regular, so we look forward to welcoming you back!

Emma Richmond
Communications Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We loved our day here and found the area very relaxing. The staff and walkers were very friendly. Its great to see a area of natural beauty on our doorstep, the food is great and very reasonable.

Thank Gavin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarksWildlifeTrust, Communications Assistant at Brandon Marsh Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hi,

Thanks for your review and I'm glad that you had such a good day. Hopefully we'll see you back soon or you can contact us if you'd like more information about our other nature reserves.

Many thanks,
Emma Richmond
Communications Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Had a lovely walk however, I wish there had been "short" and "long" pathway signs. Took a long walk and as husband has not long had a hip replacement, would have preferred not to! The map given on entry is helpful however when the plant life is at full height, it's easy to make a mistake. Perhaps they could use coloured routes on the signposts and more of them? Good cafe on site and clean picnic area. Wellies would have been better than trainers as very muddy in places due to recent rains. We all enjoyed the hide, including my granddaughter aged 8. Take binoculars. At £6 for a family ticket and free parking,very good value.

1  Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarksWildlifeTrust, Communications Assistant at Brandon Marsh Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your review and I'm glad that you and your family enjoyed your visit. I'll pass on your comments about signage, as improvements to the reserve site is something that we're continually working on. We hope to see you again soon.

Emma Richmond
Communications Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brandon Marsh Nature Reserve also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Brandon Marsh Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing