We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great new local”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Penny Farthing

The Penny Farthing
Ranked #88 of 568 Restaurants in Coventry
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great new local”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was my 3rd visit and we went at lunchtime in the week. The pub has only been open for 3 months and is now settling down after its initial mad rush. The pub is a new build on a new estate and is designed, i guess, as a family eatery, which suits us fine...we live 5 minutes away.
Service was great, all very friendly and quick. Our food arrived in good time and was well cooked and presented. The coffee was decent too, which isn't always the case. All in all, a good new local for us and we'll no doubt return many times

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    71
    51
    24
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service, food and atmosphere! Staff well trained.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were recommended this pub by some friends and decided to visit last Saturday with our two children. It was lunch time and fairly busy but the staff were very good under pressure and there was someone available quickly if we needed anything, the food was exceptional and great value for money. The kids had a fantastic time playing and were in view whilst we finished our dinner so very relaxing for us. Staff were also very child friendly. Will be visiting here regularly in the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angelascrase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A nice looking new pub with tasty food and very pleasant service.

Visited with my partner and parents and all meals were thoroughly enjoyed.

We were served by Billie and she was lovely.

Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerrieDanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great Sunday Roast”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a fantastic Sunday Roast here, my children in particular loved it, busy but excellent service and barely waited more than 10 mins for our meals and desserts. To defend them re a pointless point made above about the play area, this is a pub/restaurant not a playground (there is a huge play area 10metres away across the road) people should judge the Penny Farthing on its Food, drinks, staff & service - all of which are excellent. The playground/facilities for children are an added bonus and not everyone has children. I have 2 but do not believe a childrens play area is an important essential for a great eating establishment. In all a great food pub.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anonnynonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average Pub Food”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our party of six visited the penny farthing for the first time on 05th September. The pub is nicely decorated with a clean and modern feel. The service is good and above avergage for a meal at the pub. Food is OK- we had a variety of dishes and whilst all were eaten the comment of "bland" was used by all guests. Would I visit again- probably, although food at a sizzler is better value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Penny Farthing also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Penny Farthing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing