We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food”
Review of Rix'x Bombay Cafe and Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rix'x Bombay Cafe and Bar
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
coventry
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely food”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Four of us went a groupon deal. initially we were given a menu and spent some time discussing before the deal was explained,ie there's a set menu for the deal.
This turned out to be really excellent. five tapas style dishes each, a mix of fish and meat. all served beautifully and the staff were particularly to be recommended.
We found these dishes filling but despite bits of salad on each plate, missing carbohydrate and vegetables so we had a couple of veggie dishes and naan bread afterwards.
We'll probably go again as it's walking distance and the food was so tasty and imaginative, but we'll have the veg and naan alongside the tapas.
you can of course have indian cuisine mains but we really liked the tapas.
We went on a saturday and there was a large party in one area but it still was not noisy and the service was excellent.
Just one criticism and that is the 'ladies'. Lots of cubicles but too many with no paper and some messy.
Maintenance of toilet areas is so improtant guys, please look into this.
I've just read another review and checked the deal. We should have been given salad and bread. Never mind, naan bread didn't break the bank and the aubergines were yummy.
I'll check deals more carefully next time!
There's a good vegetarian tapas selection if you want it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very pleasant experience”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have been here twice now, both Groupon vouchers and I would go again without a Groupon voucher. Excellent meals both time, Good service and lovely cocktails in fabulous surroundings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeniorRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A disappointment with terrible service!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We bought a groupon voucher and were really excited about visiting this new restaurant. Upon arrival we were impressed with the decor and atmosphere of the bar/restaurant. However, it was extremely busy and there were not enough staff to accommodate all customers. We were finally seated and were left for half an hour without even a drink. After ordering a cocktail they didn't even arrive for another 20 minutes. We then had to ask for the food and they were not clear on what we were getting until we specifically asked twice. We then got the first few courses of the tapas deal and said to the manager we were not very happy with the service. He responded with "well your dishes are on the table now". Not the response you need. We eventually ordered more dishes as the tapas was not enough for four people. Extremely small portions. Everything was taking so long so we decided to cancel the order but were told that we were unable to do so and they had made the dish although everything else seemed to take so long!! We refused to pay and were going to go elsewhere as the service was so poor. Went to a restaurant called Jeera and were very pleased with their food and service. Would recommend going there instead!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reens1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“avoid - awful customer service”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

we purchased a groupon voucher for a 5 course meal. unfortunately we had to leave without being served. we booked in advance requesting a high chair and were assured that one would be available. on arrival they informed us they have no high chairs leaving us to seat the toddler on our lap. this was just the start of the disaster. being vegetarians when when it came to ordering the food we were told that they would only serve us meat dishes and that it was our fault as we hadn't informed they of our special dietary requirements i.e. that we were vegetarian. the deal clearly stated that vegetarian options were available. I've not been to an indian restaurant to date where you need to inform them of being vegetarian. next they would'nt serve us with bread and salad as this was not printed on our groupon voucher even though it is stated on the groupon deal on the groupon website. this was all we could tolerate so we had to leave without eating. this is the first time this has ever happened to us in years of eating out. visit this place at your peril. good luck.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dahsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Visited yesterday, using a groupon voucher, was a little worried having read reveiws, but the meal was excellent, one of the best Indians we have had for a long time. Also had a starter that was fantastic. Would certainly reccommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LandCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rix'x Bombay Cafe and Bar also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing