We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New quality management urgently required” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scireborne Tavern

The Scireborne Tavern
Ranked #432 of 564 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New quality management urgently required”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I've known this pub all my life, it's set in a great location and is a stunning building with huge potential. However, somehow, over the years it's been left to be managed by inexperienced 'children' who are happy to ridicule the clientele by serving poor quality cold food, terrible beer and providing an ambiance reminiscent of the rough-council-estate pub from the program Shameless, inevitably resulting in a decline in clientele.

(With that in mind its certainly ironic to note that the Fuzzy Eds 'children's' area within the grounds is most popular...)

This establishment could and should be so much more and with any luck, now that the present management seem to be about to leave, maybe the locality will finally get the high quality public house it deserves..

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Pretty Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not the worst ever, cheap and cheerfull but to be honest at 2 for 1 it is only in line cost wise to other local pubs.

If you have children its great as it is a child friendly pub, if you dont have kids probably best to avoid it !!

On a positive the staff are very friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CovDemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dont bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

we used to use this pub on a regular basis, but i don't know whats happened, the food is awful and its always full of children running around the place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank danny r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went for a lunch time meal today. I'm not one to complain but it was awful. Steak asked for medium cooked well done. Chips soggy and cold peas like bullets and cold. No grilled tomato pepper sauce extra cold. Friends meal was over cooked and cold also beans were like they were cookd several times. Asked for bread and butter got it bread felt stale butter was rock hard. The cheese slices had branstonpickle on them. 50 minute wait for the meal also and it was t busy.
Just generally awful today. Was thank full we had a full refund and it was dealt with. Just appalled that we got told the reason was chef was hungover. Gosh wish I could go to work hungover and get away with that.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rolly113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

My children went to a birthday party and they really enjoyed themself.
We decided to stay for something to eat it was the WORSE descion we have ever made my food was swimming in grease it had no taste. My husband had a cravery which he said was horrible the meat that was placed on his plate was not even worth it I would have gave it my dog. He said he's food was tasteless. We are both going home till hungry and feeling ill ATM. I'm upset and feel very angry towards the pub.
Please take my advice never eat there. The service and place are a disgrace.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HayleyDoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scireborne T, General Manager at The Scireborne Tavern, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi there

My Name is Mark Weston and i am the General Manager here at the Scireborne, Im sorry to hear you didnt enjoy your visit here yesterday and that the food wasnt up to expectations, May i ask if you spoke to anyone about this at the time as i was on all day yesterday and i was not made aware of your complaint. If i had spoken to you then maybe i could have done something to resolve the situation at the time.

I am always willing to try and resolve an issue there and then for you if it is something within my ability.

If you would like to discuss this further my phone number is 02476 466 745 and email is scirebornetavern@orchidpubs.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scireborne Tavern also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Scireborne Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing