We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun skating”

Planet Ice Coventry
Ranked #25 of 77 things to do in Coventry
Attraction details
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
587 reviews
453 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 653 helpful votes
“fun skating”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We went on a Monday in term time and it was really quiet. We went for an ice tots session which was exceptionally good value for money as it included toys on the rink for the small children to play with. There was also someone there who took the time to try to help my daughter learn some of the very basics just to get her balance. The penguin we used was a bit difficult to push around the ice but we had a fun session.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank gecko77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    29
    10
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ice skating”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

If I ever want to do something other than eating out or going to the cinema, me and my friends visit Planet Ice, it's so fun and it's a great way to exercise. We do sometimes get sore bottoms but that is part of the fun!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mahta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good ice skating venue”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

it's a full sized ice hockey rink so there's lots of space. there's plenty of seats for non-skaters, food available, skates available to hire and not too expensive (for a family it may be)
can skate for as long as you want, but sometimes they do close off part of the ice for hockey practise. When it's busy it can be a little frustrating but it won't ruin the day as there's lots of room
look out for the talented skaters - they tend to "show off" their moves in the middle!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“RIP OFF”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Arrived approx 4:40 , even though there was one person in front and 2 staff on the ticket office we didn't get seen until 4:55. Annoying!! Staff seemed deliberately slow and in their own world and conversations. Not the best first impression. We went as a group of 6 (3 adults & 3 children) I was appauled when for my daughter and I alone the price came to £26!!!!!! Shocking! But don't worry because that price included skate hire, Until you see the skates my child was given then you'd worry! I asked for a replacement pair as they looked around 90 years old and very unsafe! The laces looked thread bare and I was shocked. The lad behind the counter said 'they'd be fine' and smirked! Really annoyed by this time. Anyway we get onto the ice and we crawl along the barrier until its clear and I attempt to take a picture to which I'm told by a mardy teenager wearing a high bid waist jacket phones sent permitted on the ice, I apologise and smile but he skates off with his arms crossed! Can I make a suggestion that if that's true can planet ice please make this rule more visable as I saw no signs. Also if the rink is going to have a third coned off half way through public sessions can it be made known to the laying public this is going to happen ? As we're not mind readers and if a learner skater drifts into this area by mistake they do not appreciate being told abruptly to 'move out the way it's for paid lessons'. Towards the end of the session there was a group of kids racing from one end of the rink to the other like maniacs , with penguins , one boy went so fast and had to dart out the way of my daughter which unbalanced her and she fell down!! Where was Mr high vid waist coat then??? None of the children seemed to be with adults either?
Not impressed. Go Solihull.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Joleen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go here all the time!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great place to go skating. I went to the Christmas show this year and that was very enjoyable. Last year I also did lessons and that was a really enjoyable experience as well!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank amx12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet Ice Coventry also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Planet Ice Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing