We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good place to go for organic meals”

Ryton Organic Gardens
Ranked #21 of 72 things to do in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a good place to go for organic meals”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Well, it was a good place before it closed! We used to go quite frequently, doing some shopping in their very good large shopping area before either eating in the restaurant of the coffee shop. Both were excellent and a great loss.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 35Annie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenOrganic, Public Relations Manager at Ryton Organic Gardens, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hi Annie - Just to let you know, unfortunately previous retail offerings here at Ryton have not been able to break even. So, although we no longer have the large retail store, we do offer a limited range of organic seeds, publications, greetings cards and plants in season, grown on this site, at the garden entrance. We also have a new cafe/restaurant - Fresh Rootz - winners of the BBC Street Food Awards 2013 offering delicious freshly cooked vegetarian and vegan food. This has been well received by visitors to Ryton since it opened in the Spring and offers beautiful views into the gardens. We hope to see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    49
    20
    18
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great place to learn and enjoy”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

It's all very well organised, maximising the employment of volunteers, with resources for all ages.
If you are interested in plants, planting and growing it is well worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EHOLeamingtonSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenOrganic, Manager at Ryton Organic Gardens, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks for your review, it's great to receive such good feedback. We look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great idea but disappointing”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Visited with a friend who is a keen gardener and loves plants etc. I was surprised to find it had an admission cost of £5 per adult but only Monday to Saturday! Free on a Sunday? I don't know the reasoning or justification behind this but thought maybe there was more to see during the week.

I have to say that despite not being a keen gardener, I love to see nature at its best and I didn't see as much of it as I expected. Some of the areas looked as if they had just been neglected, and that was not the ones that were deliberately left to Nature. Not enough information on what was planted etc and where it did have stands for information "to be returned after use" they were empty. No staff around to ask any questions (apart from someone having her lunch) and water features that were not switched on and had stagnant water in them.
It was however, a relaxing afternoon in a peaceful setting and we then moved on to the Fresh Rootz Cafe/Restaurant. £10 for a cup of 2 tea and scones!! I'm sorry but that is way overpriced for a small drink and snack. Especially having paid £5 each entry price. The cafe staff were very pleasant and friendly (and apologetic after I pointed out how dirty my cup was)

If I were to recommend anyone visiting here, I would emphasise that Sunday may be a better day to visit and to take a picnic (that can be eaten in the grounds) especially if you take children.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Wilko1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenOrganic, Manager at Ryton Organic Gardens, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We were disappointed to hear about your visit, if you'd like to discuss your feedback in more detail please contact us at enquiries@gardenorganic.co.uk
We offer free entry to everyone on a Sunday, because the Visitor Centre and shop are closed and gardens aren't staffed. However, visitors can still enjoy freshly made vegetarian food at Fresh Rootz cafe/restaurant next door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A marvellous introduction to working with nature”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

My university has a keen interest in the biology, environmental science, and social science associated with natural resource use, agriculture, and farming. Gardens Organic are therefore natural partners for us and our first visit to Ryton Gardens did not disappoint in any way.
The Gardens are a marvellous showcase for the bountiful horticulture and agriculture that is possible whilst working with nature. The staff we spoke to were very welcoming and well-informed. The work done at the gardens and nationally through the Master Gardeners and Master Composters schemes are exemplary.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenOrganic, Public Relations Manager at Ryton Organic Gardens, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Robert_M
Thank you very much for your great review. Very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always improving”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Went to Ryton Gardens for the first time this year and really enjoyed walking around the gardens,and didn't realise just how much work goes on there. It's educational, relaxing and certainly deserves our support. Keep up the good work. The food is yum too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SFlef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryton Organic Gardens also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Ryton Organic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing