We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best carrot cake ever!!”

2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 617 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $32
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the secluded courtyard of 2Tone Village this newly refurbished family run cafe & restaurant provides good food, good times and great service.Home of the Jerk Sausage 2Tone Cafe offers all day breakfast, and more, including Caribbean meals. The restaurant offers an enticing menu of good 'home' style cuisine for those new to Caribbean food and the connoisseur.2Tone Village where the stars of 2Tone are often seen dining, jamming or generally hanging out. Please check our website for open times of the Cafe & Restaurant and for up to date menus and events.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I just moved close by and found the place by mistake but decided to stop of and have a coffee. I noticed some lovely looking cakes and decided to be a bit naughty, I was a carrot cake & the most incredible cake I have ever eaten!! The service was very welcoming and I'll defiantly be taking family & friends to try this hidden treasure!! Great value for money as I had coffee & cake for just £3

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Becci123626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Hi there

Welcome to the area, thank you for trying out our cafe and for writing such a positive review, we are delighted that you enjoyed the carrot cake and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Angela, Alph & the 2 Tone Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 185 of 238 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

we went to the two tone village today and had a cup of tea in the 2 tone café. I saw they did ginger cake and was then asked if we would like it warmed and served with ice cream...we grinned and said yes. And it was the best ginger cake tasted and we have eaten a fair bit in our time !!! The staff were amazingly friendly and nothing was too much trouble ...we sat there for a couple of hours when Neville staples came by with his girlfriend. He was happy to chat about the early days of the Specials and have loads of pics taken ! The whole day made our trip very enjoyable and we were told Neville, Pauline and Neol from Selecter pop in regularly. We would have loved to have stayed for a full meal however we opted for a jerk chicken wrap before departing ....and we will be back very soon !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Manager at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Many thanks for taking time out to review our Cafe we are delighted that you enjoyed our Ginger cake so much! We are happy that you got to meet Neville, who is always willing to talk to and have photo's taken with fans whenever he can.

We look forward to your return visit to the Village when hopefully you will be able to stay and try out the restaurant.

Angela, Alph & the Simmer Down Family

PS we passed the photo's onto Pam she was really pleased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a lovely meal at Simmer Down last weekend. Really welcoming, totally delicious food, great price, lovely time! It was our anniversary and half-way through our meal we were presented with an anniversary card too! Just a great time and fab place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Many thanks for choosing Simmer Down for your anniversary meal and we are delighted that you had a good experience with us.

We look forward to seeing you again next year for your anniversary (but hopefully before then as well!)

Angela, Alph & the Simmer Down Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Visited here on way back from Birmingham from reviews on trip advisor. Tucked away but easy to find. Very welcoming and worth the detour. Food was authentic and extremely tasty. Not fast food but worth the wait. Would recommend and return in the future. Keep up the good work.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mranewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Many thanks for taking time out to review our Cafe and for the words of encouragement.

We like to pride ourselves on providing the best quality food for our customers and as the sign in our Cafe says, 'good food takes time', so we are proud to say we are not fast food, but then this does give our customers time to soak up the atmosphere of the 2 Tone Village.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are next passing Coventry

Angela, Alph & The 2 Tone Cafe Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The cafe is a little basic but the food was good, particularly the jerk sausages. We just had a quick lunch but agreed it would be good to try the restaurant at a later date.
The only let down was the "skapuccino" which I'm pretty sure was instant.

1  Thank 460kathyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Many thanks for reviewing our Cafe, we are so glad that you enjoyed the food, and your comment re instant Skappuccino has been noted.

We look forward to welcoming you to the restaurant next time.

Regards

Angela, Alph & the 2 Tone/Simmer Down Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing