We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Tone Cafe”

2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 577 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $31
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cafe, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Nestled in the secluded courtyard of 2Tone Village this newly refurbished family run cafe & restaurant provides good food, good times and great service.Home of the Jerk Sausage 2Tone Cafe offers all day breakfast, and more, including Caribbean meals. The restaurant offers an enticing menu of good 'home' style cuisine for those new to Caribbean food and the connoisseur.2Tone Village where the stars of 2Tone are often seen dining, jamming or generally hanging out. Please check our website for open times of the Cafe & Restaurant and for up to date menus and events.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“2 Tone Cafe”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is now a regular stop off point for breakfast when we drive past on the M6. It's only a couple of miles detour but the breakfasts are great. It's well worth a visit to see the wall and take a visit round the museum whilst you are there! We always allow an hour to visit here so we can soak up the nostalgia!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Many thanks for taking time out to write a review about our Cafe, we are so pleased that we have become your regular stop off point.

Just one small point, the museum is still not quite finished, however if there is someone around they will show people around if they have traveled from out of the city, but as you said there are still things to see, plenty of nostalgia and atmosphere, we love it and we're glad that so many people also love it.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Angela, Alph & the 2 Tone Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    42
    8
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly little place with lovely food”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Tiny place, with a limited but traditional range of food... great prices and spot on food. Best of all the friendly staff. Remember to bring your own alcohol if you drink as they have not licence. Quite simply if you can get in.....then do.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 100TCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review and endorsement of our restaurant. Although we are small we hope this is out weighed by our service and quality of our food.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Simmer Down very soon!

Regards

Angela, Alph & the Simmer Down Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Lovely service, lovely people, lovely food, clean, great cake and very cheap. Did 10% student discount. Took booking no problem. Nice ambiance, lovely and relaxed. Nice music. I can't really fault it. I will definitely be going again.

The only significant room for improvement, would be to have another veggie option.

The dumplings and fried plantains (side dishes) are to die for. The ginger cake was particularly good. Didn't have starters, but the starters were quite fish orientated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daveyjones111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Sorry that it has taken us so long to respond to your very kind review of our restaurant, we really do appreciate it when people take time out to write reviews about us.

We have taken on board your comment regarding veggie option and our new menu will have more veggie choices, we have also made the starter choices slightly less fish orientated, however fish does feature quite highly in Caribbean food as you can imagine.

We do hope we will see you again at Simmer Down.

Angela, Alph & the Simmer Down Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Simple, but very good.”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We enjoyed both the food and the friendly service at the Simmer Down Restaurant. We were seated quickly and the waiting staff were very attentive.

Neither of us had ever tried Caribbean food before but thankfully we both enjoyed it! I can heartily recommend the Jerk Chicken, Rice n Peas and the Mutton. I probably wouldn't have the root veg again but you don't know if you don't try!

I really enjoyed the Guinness / Nutmeg drink and their fruit punch was very refreshing. Their homemade ginger cake was also quite excellent.

The only negatives I can really note are the that seat covering limits where you can put your feet, and that the two person tables by the wall seemed a bit cramped. We went on a Saturday night and it was quite lout outside, but I think this added to the atmosphere.

Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
A belated but nonetheless sincere thank you for taking time out to write a review of our restaurant. We are delighted that you 'enjoyed the food and the service' that we provided.

Root vegetables are an acquired taste, but at least you can say you've tried them now :)

We have taken on board your comment about the table for two by the wall and have re-organised the room so the tables are no longer up against the wall.

We do hope we will see you again at Simmer Down

Angela, Alph & the Simmer Down Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

the mutton curry and rice and peas were lovely. we also tried the plantain and dumplings which my husband loved. we were the only 2 in the restaurant for the first 1/2 hour but the owners came and spoke with us and chatted. they also came out with an ackee taster as i had been told it was yucky. It was beautiful. we will be going back in the very near future. lovely to try different food. the atmosphere was so nice

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KimN83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Hello Kim

Many thanks for taking time out to write such a nice review of our restaurant, and better still many thanks for coming back again this evening even before I'd had a chance to respond to your review :)

We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Simmer Down, as I have often said we love it when people try Caribbean food for the first time and enjoy it. I have to say Ackee & Saltfish is one of those dishes that you either love or hate, but you have to try it for yourself in order to make the judgement, happy to say most people really like it.

We look forward to seeing you, your husband and daughter again soon.

Angela, Alph & the Simmer Down Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing