We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother & Daughter Sunday Outing”

2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 580 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $31
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the secluded courtyard of 2Tone Village this newly refurbished family run cafe & restaurant provides good food, good times and great service.Home of the Jerk Sausage 2Tone Cafe offers all day breakfast, and more, including Caribbean meals. The restaurant offers an enticing menu of good 'home' style cuisine for those new to Caribbean food and the connoisseur.2Tone Village where the stars of 2Tone are often seen dining, jamming or generally hanging out. Please check our website for open times of the Cafe & Restaurant and for up to date menus and events.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mother & Daughter Sunday Outing”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My daughter and I decided to our Sunday Dinner out and it was a trip well worth it. We enjoyed the food, the music and the atmosphere of the place. My daughter has a healthy appetite and she wasn't left wanting!

Very reasonably priced and served more than enough.

We had a really lovely time and were allowed to sit and chat without feeling pressurised to leave or order more.

We will, without doubt, be going back very soon... there a lot on the menu to sample!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dondon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi there

Many thanks for taking time out to review our restaurant.

In true caribbean style we are always like to "serve more than enough" so we are glad that your daughter "was not left wanting"!. We are also happy that you felt relaxed and appreciated the atmosphere provided by our musical selection!

We look forward to seeing you both for Sunday dinner soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    44
    8
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Fantastic place real hidden gem”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you want a great night out with friendly hosts amazing food then this is the place for you. We went to Simmer Down last friday night after reading such great reviews on here and it was everything and more than we could have hoped for. Angela and Alph run the most perfect place to eat. The menu isnt huge which suits the style of the place what they do they do well and its small kitchen so all the food is cooked fresh. The ladies serving have a great sense of humour and interact well with everyone. We had the pleasure of meeting the owners as both came to say hello and this made our first visit so much nicer actually seeing the faces behind Simmer Down. The food is fresh, tasty and very good value for money. We did take our own wine but also had the Guiness punch well worth trying and also a fruit punch. For food we had prawns and the much talked about ackee, saltfish yorkshire puddings both dishes for starters were very good then onto the main Jerk chicken for me with hard food, mutton curry with rice and peas for hubby and then sides of fried plantan and fried dumplings. All I can say is it was all wonderful the presentation is very neat with a nice touch of home style. I even took a piece of carrot cake home as I couldn't manage it after such a feast. That too was amazing and next time It will be a tough choice between that or the Baileys Cheesecake. Start to finish the whole evening was just lovely and we left feeling we had found a great new place to eat and also some lovely new friends in the owners.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Wow, what can we say...but many thanks for your thorough and glowing review of our restaurant.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us at Simmer Down, as a fairly new family run business it is great for us to be getting such good reviews.

Alph & I see meeting the customers as a very important part of our role, we like to get feedback first hand, good bad or indifferent but obviously we prefer good! so thank you. We all like to make people welcome and relaxed, and so it is heartwarming that you feel you have made new friends in us, that's great just the sort of rapport we want to build with our customers so thank you and we look forward to welcoming our new friends back again soon.

Angela, Alph & Simmer Down Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Another tasty treat”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Mmmm wow and delicious, visited with family again as this is one of my favourite places to eat whilst in Coventry.

The menu has expanded, along with my waistline, the service was great as usual and the food was perfect, I will return again and again !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi Rachel

It was good to see you again and glad you found our "service was great as usual and the food was perfect", we certainly look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Coventry.

Warm regards

Angela & Alph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited Simmer Down restaurant this weekend with my wife and mother-in-law and was not disappointed.
Firstly, the restaurant wasn't even open as it was a Thursday evening, but when I phoned, Alf told me that there was preparation for an event the following day so he'd be happy to cook for us, result!
We arrived and were greeted by Angela, a superb host, and shown through to a cosy and welcoming room. Our food was tasty and Angela and Alf took time to explain dishes to the trio of novices. I learnt the origins of Jerk Chicken and loved the subtle heat of the dish. Can't wait to try the mutton curry on my next trip.
Overall, great hosts and great food, we really felt like we'd been cooked for by somebody who loves what they do. Please visit Simmer Down for a new experience and if you're a ska fan it's like the Holy Grail, skank out!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cv13tommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi there

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant. It was a pleasure to be able to accommodate you as we really hate to disappoint people who have never tried Caribbean food before. We are so glad that you were not disappointed.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hospitality, we feel that a warm welcome is almost as important as good food.

Yes if you are a ska fan keep your eye on the 2 Tone Central web page for news of the Coventry music museum opening soon, a major part of which will be about 2 Tone.

Once again thank you for the endorsement.

Angela, Alph & the Simmer Down Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Carrot cake!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent carrot cake! Friendly owners. A little hidden away, but well worth looking up. Will definitely be going back for a meal soon. Might even do it this coming weekend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abheesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi Abheesh

Glad you came in to try the carrot cake and even happier that it lived up to expectations. It was good to see you again for a takeaway and I do hope that the Jerk Chicken and Bailey's Cheesecake was to your liking.

Hope to see you again soon!

Angela, Alph & Simmer Down Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing