We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small cafe and limited menu”

2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 613 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $34
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the secluded courtyard of 2Tone Village this newly refurbished family run cafe & restaurant provides good food, good times and great service.Home of the Jerk Sausage 2Tone Cafe offers all day breakfast, and more, including Caribbean meals. The restaurant offers an enticing menu of good 'home' style cuisine for those new to Caribbean food and the connoisseur.2Tone Village where the stars of 2Tone are often seen dining, jamming or generally hanging out. Please check our website for open times of the Cafe & Restaurant and for up to date menus and events.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Visited in early March and was not greatly impressed. The owners were friendly. Services was very slow but polite. The main problem here is the very limited menu. Bring your own drink if you want wine or bear.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Marcel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Hello Marcel F

Many thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant, your comments are useful and have been noted.

We have only just started out in the restaurant business and feel that a small place such as the one we have is ideal. In terms of our menu we agree that it is limited but we do plan to change this in a couple of weeks and we will be adding a few more items and we do hope that you will visit us again in a month or so to check out the new menu. I will say though that it will still not be a massive menu. As the idea of a Caribbean restaurant is a fairly new concept in Coventry we decided to start with things that people maybe familiar with or have heard about and to gradually introduce other dishes to our menu, we would love people to know that there is more to Caribbean food than Jerk chicken and curry goat!

We apologies for the slow service you received and hope that this too will be improved by the time you visit us again!

Regards

Angela, Alph & the Simmer Down Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 202 of 236 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Jerk Chicken and Gravy was very nice, and the Yorkshire Pudding starter was surprisingly tasty! The fruit juices are also great, but the real star of the show was the Carrot Cake! I'm not a dessert person but it was to die for (not literally). I like the decor and layout, though the tables are quite big, and you are far away from the person you sit opposite, but I guess it's just the style.

I'll be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Hello Paul B

Many thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant. We really do appreciate the feedback we get as it helps us to improve the customer experience, so we have noted your comment about the size of the tables.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal, and the carrot cake! :) and we look forward to welcoming you back to Simmer Down in the future.

Angela, Alph & Simmer Down Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Visited Simmer Down on 18th Feb for my husbands 60th birthday. The owners opened up the restaurant especially for us and cooked all my husband favourite food. it was a real treat. Totally blown away with the wonderful food and hospitality. we were really pleased with the food, and couldn't have asked for better.
thank you for a wonderful evening

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jackie_lynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Hello Jackie

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant again. We are so glad that your husband enjoyed his birthday meal, it's always a pleasure to be able to give people food that they really enjoy. We do try to go the extra mile for customers, when we can! and if we get requests in plenty of time we will do our best to accommodate.

We do hope we will see you again at Simmer Down.

Warm regards

Angela & Alph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Visited this restaurant tonight and was pleasantly surprised. The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming and the food was delicious-especially the carrot cake! Very reasonably priced, comfortable and will definitely be returning soon. Would highly recommend. (Don't know what the previous reviewer is on about!)

1  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Hello Laura T

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. Your kind words were very much appreciated particularly following the previous review, it is good to know that we are still providing quality Caribbean food and we are so glad that you enjoyed it.

We do hope you will visit us again and remember we sell the carrot cake in the Cafe as well!

Angela, Alph & the Simmer Down Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Worst food i have ever had!the only good thing about the place is the bloke who came round to talk to us at the end.everything was dry,the food was the worst ive had i cant believe this is number one on trip adviser.our meals came out one at a time a couple of minutes between each one.each meal was microwaved and was only warm.2 of our party of 4 were up in the night being sick probably because the rice wernt heated properly.i would never go here again or recomend this to anyone.these reviews are there friends

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank trueboy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Hi trueboy83

We are very disappointed that you and your party did not enjoy your meals at Simmer Down. We try our best to serve the best quality authentic Caribbean cuisine to our diners. Our aim is to give people the opportunity to try Caribbean food and enjoy it, so this review is disappointing and quite frankly a shock to us as you did not complain on the night and as we have had not complaints in the past.

We are even more disappointed that you chose to air your dissatisfaction on trip TripAdvisor rather than to my husband when he came round to talk to you, if you had complained at the time it would have given us an opportunity to deal with your issues.

Finally in response to two of your party being ill "probably due to the rice not being heated properly", the rice would have been freshly cooked and IF we did put it in the microwave it would only have been to ensure that it was piping hot prior to serving.

I'm sorry that you feel unable to visit us again and that you will not be recommending us to friends, I only wish I was lucky enough to have 33 friends that would be willing to write such positive reviews for us.

Angela & Alph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing