We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building, horrendous service & tasteless food”
Review of The Establishment

The Establishment
Ranked #96 of 580 Restaurants in Coventry
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Beautiful building, horrendous service & tasteless food”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is visually stunning & pretty tasteful in terms of decor & interior; however, the food is below average & tasteless & the service was beyond bad; both of which just ruined our entire experience! Coventry has limited venues to say the least & this place was a refreshing prospect, yet despite an expensive refit, the management & proprietors have a long way to go to match contemporary competitors in terms of quality in all areas & to justify their prices! Whilst the establishment is not excessively pricey, what appears on the surface to be good value & reasonable, actually becomes a false economy when the food is dire & the attitude of the waiting staff is beyond rude & ignorant! Serious staff training is required immediately as the waiting staff were not aware or knowledgable about the menu options etc when asked; this is a fundamental basic of waiting staff & their couldn't-care-less attitude was disgraceful! However, the management & proprietors must be aware of this factor since they are responsible for sourcing, interviewing & employing such ill mannered, intellectually challenged personnel in the first instance! This venue is heavily relying upon the fact that their immediate competition is extremely limited & I for one, begrudge spending my hard earned money where it is not welcomed, valued or appreciated! This is definitely one place where all that glitters is most definitely not gold!

Helpful?
2 Thank Navilluso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    127
    75
    55
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice Meal in Pleasant Surroundings”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Visited on a Saturday night around 7.30pm, about half full.
Booked on line the night before and received confirmation within a couple of hours
Service was extremely quick and the staff were very pleasant.
Our meals were very good and the prices were ok
Nice mix of ages in the pub, thought three doormen was over the top
But overall will will go back again

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brownccfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice decor, food ok.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Establishment is a lovely building and the atmosphere goes some way to making up for the more average menu. The service however was very slow and we waited 50 minutes for our food. Disappointingly the ciabatta was uncooked and the staff seemed unaware that there was anything wrong with this stodgy offering. By way of contrast, the fries were overcooked and seemed to have been made from a substance other than potato. The establishment is fine if you have low expectations with respect to food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant City Venue”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

One of Coventry's newest bars this is situated in what was the Old Court House and has been very tastefully transformed into a pub/restaurant.Was impressed with the range of beers and although I did not eat the menu was varied and reasonably priced for a city centre establishment.Very close to the Cathedral so an excellent place to visit after viewing the cathedrals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank PETER R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Give the food a miss”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visited The Establishment again yesterday after a recent disappointing experience with the food here, this time was no better. Initial impressions are really good with lovely surroundings but that’s by far the best bit. The menu looks okay but has spelling mistakes such as “Brittish” and what is advertised is quite simply not what you get. Initially we order “Bruschetta and olives” what arrived was a large bowl of olives with two small slices of uncooked chiabatta. We advised the waitress what was delivered wasn’t what we ordered and received a rather uninterested “isn’t it?”. We decided to change the order to “breads and oils”, we paid the extra and then received several slices of ciabatta with a single bowl of oil. What was delivered was nice enough but not what was advertised. After two disappointing experiences with food we will not be returning and from what I am hearing others are feeling similar, it’s a shame as his place has potential to be lovely but falls well short currently.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stoneheeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Establishment also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Establishment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing