We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont hold a wedding buffet here”
Review of The Jacobean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jacobean Hotel
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
coventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dont hold a wedding buffet here”
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Went to a wedding reception hereworst buffet I have ever been to jacket potatoes were hard and green, sandwiches were stale, dips were warm ect ect no garnish everything beige and bland ,complained to manager ,bride had to give money to guests to go to local Mcdonalds as people had travelled and were hungry, management do not seem concerned

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirandacoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    118
    52
    30
    26
See reviews for
92
115
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Md.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2008

I needed a place to spend one night about halfway between the Lake District and Kent, and I chose Coventry. I found this hotel to be clean, comfortable, and very convenient. I had a single room for 48 pds, which I thought was reasonable. There was a trouser press, hairdryer, coffee/tea tray and kettle, nice clean bathroom, and, being at the back of the hotel, a nice view of the green countryside. I drove a couple of miles to eat a nice dinner at a neighborhood restaurant, Coundon Indian Cuisine (61 Barkers Butts Lane Coventry CV6 1DU Tel. 024 76590500).

  • Liked — clean and convenient
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gal_i_vanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

I used to live in Coventry until 11 years ago. This hotel had a very good reputation for it's restaurant so I was interested to see what had gone wrong according to many reveiwers.

The first thing I would say is that nobody was rude at all, in fact quite the opposite. I did have trouble booking because the website wasn't working properly but a phonecall soon sorted that out. Don't book through the agencies. Book direct and get a full English included for much the same price as room only with the agencies. The breakfast is buffet but the cooked part is made to order, which is good. The only gripe I would make is that there should be more fruit on offer. The Dinner was very good, again the only problem was that the wine was served too warm, which was soon rectified. The standard room was perfectly acceptable and was very clean indeed. The hotel has walls of awards in frames and on plates.

The location of this hotel is very good for tourists since on the one hand it's easy to get into the city centre by car or bus and beautiful coutryside is also easily accessible. The very centre of England is only a couple of miles away which is Meriden but in typical English fashion there are "three" spots marked out as such, including one in the Old Bull pub. There is very good walking and cycling to be enjoyed but you will have to get some maps or books. Berkswell is worth a visit particularly to see the stocks. The local miscreants appear to have had either 3 legs or were pretty well endowed. Jaguar have a museum of over 100 cars old and new at what was Browns Lane factory. The Coventry motor museum in town is as good as you will see anywhere and the cathedral is a must. If ,like me you have a free bus pass you can very easily visit such places as Leaminton Spa, Warwick and Stratford-upon-Avon in one day and still be back in plenty of time for dinner.

  • Liked — Friendly welcome and good food
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

Stayed one night as staying over in Coventry for an exam at the University of Warwick. Very comfortable clean warm room, nice breakfast inc. Lots of nice tea/coffee chocolate in room and friendly staff. No problems whatsoever - handy for the ring road too.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, Wales, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2007

This hotel is typical of the disease in british hospitality. Looks superficially good, ticks all the AA/English Tourist Board/RAC type criteria: parking, lifts, ironing board, square footage, tea/coffee, tissues, tv, etc. but: the service and absolute contempt for all of these b****dy nusiance customers stinks! Who owns this place? What on earth were you thinking when you hired the person who runs this hotel on a daily basis. He or she must be the absolute antithesis to the person that you 'really' need to run this place. The staffs attitude will just reflect that of their mentor and boss. I know this, because it wouldn't be possible to find such a miserable and surly bunch of individuals in the same place by accident.
Here's a selection:
'Welcome' sign at reception:- Lose your key and we'll charge you £50
I asked if there was was room service - "Yes" was the response. "Great, Could I Have a..." "No, not now! The restaurants closed" (Smug smile - (Good Training!))
Argument currently going on at reception (yes I'm currently here) between male receptionist and lady who is unhappy about being overcharged £6 with a "You won't get one over me!" attitude (class staff!)
The same receptionist just told me incidentally that lucky HE wasn't on reception when I arrived at 10.30 pm 'coz he would have given my room away early for not ringing ahead.
Anyway, this is a warning to customers as well as the owner - BEWARE!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnBridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

Nice hotel to stay, big ensuite room, nice furniture.
The water from the shower needs more power and be careful as if you select hot water you can be burnt fast.
There isn't any elevator to the first floor and the receptionist was just kind asking us about some help... no intention to help anyway.
We leave early so couldn't take any breakfast.
Later we took some tea and they brought it with some good cokies. Nice restaurant and bar area.
It's really difficult to find the hotel if arriving by night as the name outside is not light. There are some signals near but there are quite hard to understand the real place you must go.
This is an important thing to get better.

  • Liked — Quite place, rounded by nice trees, nice bar and restaurant areas.
  • Disliked — Paint in bedroom a bit tidy, water selection must be easily reached.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank britishracingreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breaston,derby
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2007

The hotel is situated in an excellent position a couple of miles outside the city.The hotel was clean all through.Our room was in the new part and was spacious and very clean with individual toiletries as well as the squeezy bottles in the bathroom.There was also a hospitality tray which was very clean and well stocked.We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the staff were very efficient.We thought the starter was small(three field mushrooms on a small piece of ciabatta bread) but it tasted excellent.The main course was very good accompanied by roast pots and red cabbage and we had cauliflower au gratin as a side order which was superb.Overall this is an excellent hotel with friendly staff and suitable for all occasions.

  • Liked — cleanliness and the excellent service
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0rmski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
6.1 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jacobean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jacobean Hotel

Property: The Jacobean Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England (Formerly Brooklands Grange Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Coventry
#10 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jacobean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Jacobean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklands Grange Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing