We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Jacobean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jacobean Hotel
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have just enjoyed afternoon tea at Brooklands Grange. We had freshly made sandwiches, home made scones with jam and clotted cream, and a lovely selection of cakes. We ate in the conservatory which has a lovely view onto a garden which is just being done up and will look even more attractive when the summer sunshine returns.

The staff at the hotel get an A+ for their attentiveness and friendliness. They were clearly enjoying meeting everyone that had come into the hotel for afternooon tea and their service was prompt and efficient. We were also impressed that staff in other parts of the hotel took time to acknowledge us in a friendly manner as we arrived at the hotel and when we left after our tea.. great customer service.

This hotel is building up its reputation following new ownership and we would recommend that people support the hotel to ensure that it remains a thriving restaurant and hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LilyM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    117
    52
    30
    25
See reviews for
92
114
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

we bought a voucher off groupon for afternoon tea,lovely old nice looking hotel on main rd to Coventry,( Allesley)
We had tea in the conservatory overlooking a fountain and fields,the waitress was lovely very helpful,nothing to much trouble
Afternoon tea arrived on 3 tier stand,everything was very freshly made,the scones just out of oven smelt lovely and were,with clotted cream strawberry jam in a cute little pot not the small screw jars in chain hotels ,good choice of sandwiches and again freshly made variety of cakes the choc roll was wonderful
and china plates, teapot and cups etc ( slight niggle,dont like paper serviettes )
we have never been here before but intend to go back for evening meal and will pop in again when we go to Coventry has again its not wonderful for food in the town
toilets were very clean with proper blocks of soap plus paper towels
WELL DONE to all at Brooklands

Room Tip: only went for afternoon tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patandfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Recently stayed here for 2 nights. We chose this hotel for its convenient location as we were at the NEC for an exhibition.
It is about 20 min drive away from NEC. Also there is a bus stop outside, which meant we could leave the car and take the bus into Coventry ( 15 mins) and also to Birmingham (55mins).

The hotel was very cheap (via Booking.com) and I feel that was probably because they have recently taken on the hotel and it is being renovated. The latter in no way affected our stay. They are obviously happy to have rooms occupied at this time.

The rooms were large and had plenty of storage - drawers and wardobe - trouser press-flat screen TV -comfortable bed. The ensuite was functional but certainly in need of modernisation.
We asked to change our room to one with a rear garden view and it was done with no problem.

We ate a bar meal one evening and as it was so quiet they layed it up in the dining room for us. The food was excellent and the service was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view. Some rooms at the side overlook old stables and waste from refurbishement. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afartribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend of 5th October for two nights. Had a single room which was clean and comfortable with good sized bathroom. Tea making facilities were a bonus and were replenished both days, as were clean towels and toiletries. Staff incredibly helpful and knowledgeable and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Excellent breakfast was included in the price too!. Added bonus is a good sized car park. Brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann1960s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed over on Sunday night. The staff were friendly and helpful however descriptions of the hotel on their website failed to reflect a current view. Our room was clean and tidy although rather demure - the view from the window was directly on to building materials and scrub land. The coffee / tea making supplies had not been replenished. The bathroom although functional was basic, the shower resembled a garden hose with a rose attached and the tile grouting around the room was mouldy with wallpaper peeling from the wall. The breakfast was excellent with good and cheery service but again the ambience of the restaurant was somewhat demure and dated. It would appear that renovations are taking place around the hotel - it would be more honest to state the situation and I am sure guests would respect this. We were rather disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildroverwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Warwick uni. Unlike a lot of hotels we were able to have one room for my husband and myself plus our daughter which was great value for money.

All of the staff that we came into contact with were really friendly. When we asked for directions for the uni, the member of staff came back with an AA route planner that he had printed off for us, really going the extra mile.

We had two dinners in the restaurant and found the food to be of excellent quality. We also sampled the high tea and breakfast. They had some really comfy sofa and the staff would often let my husband have the remote control for the tv so he would watch the football - home from home really!

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and the bedroom and particularly the bathroom were a bit tired but very clean. There are tea and coffee making facilities which I always see as a plus.

If our daughter does decide to go to Warwick uni then I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Everden99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here last night with our son prior to depositing him at Warwick University this morning. The rooms were spotless, the bathrooms are still awaiting renovation but were clean and functional, and the staff were welcoming and helpful. The food in the restaurant was good, and all in all we had a lovely last evening together. Once the renovations are finished, it will be fabulous....

Room Tip: Rooms at the back on the second floor are away from the road and bar, and therefore more peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
6.1 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,712 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
522 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jacobean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jacobean Hotel

Property: The Jacobean Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England (Formerly Brooklands Grange Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Coventry
#10 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jacobean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jacobean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklands Grange Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing