We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but a bit tired around the edges” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jacobean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Jacobean Hotel
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
torquay
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good but a bit tired around the edges”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for the first time whilst visiting family.
The hotel itself is easy to find, it was apparent upon arrival that the hotel is under going major refurbishment, hence saying it is tired around the edges, i got the impression the management had big plans for the hotel & it'll be brilliant once it's completed.
We had a nice size room with the biggest bed i've ever slept in, it was very comfortable.
Again, the decor was tired as was the bathroom & the shower was a bit rubbish, but the whole hotel & rooms were spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was also good as was the food.
The staff are absolutely great, a special thankyou to the Polish chap doing the night-shift called Chris, he was a good laugh, as well as friendly & would do anything to help us, even at 2am!
All in all a nice hotel that i'm sure will be great once it's finished! We would stay again.
However due to the dated decor i cannot give it 5/5.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    114
    51
    29
    24
See reviews for
89
114
12
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I use this Hotel on a regular basis as a pit stop on my way back home from business trips. The friendly and obliging staff, relaxed atmosphere and value for money means that it is the perfect place to stay when I'm away from home.

The restaurant is one of the best parts of the hotel, though i often ask if i can eat in front of the TV in the bar/lounge! Although i prefer to order from the bar menu, the quality is still excellent with simple touches like freshly prepared hand cut chips and homemade desserts on offer.

As other reviewers have mentioned the decor is a little tired but recent refurbishments have meant that there have been improvements between my last two visits and i look forward to seeing the changes when i next stop in. The garden in particular will be as good as any 'higher end' hotel in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brownranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Two night stay visiting relations locally. Some refurbishment was going on but didn't spoil our stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Convenient location and good bus service to city centre. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Good value at £66 per night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We held our wedding reception here in June, and had such a wonderful day we decided to invite 40 guests back to celebrate my birthday. The menu choices were good, the food excellent and the staff very pleasant and helpful. They coped wonderfully with such a large number to cater for. One member of staff even made a couple of trips to the shop for cider and cigarettes for a couple of our guests! The bar stayed open until 3.30am. I recommend the Old Hookey ale. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zzalanzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a very nice family run hotel. The owners acknowledge the decor is a little tired and say the bedrooms will be refurbished by the end of the year, but it is very clean. A lovely location near a quaint village and beautiful country park with walled garden. The staff are lovely and can't do enough for you. The breakfast was really good and waitress Paula extremely obliging. It is excellent value for money and a pleasurable relaxing experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very nice reasonably priced hotel, staff pleasant, good location, good pub in village nearby. Room very comfortable and clean, agree a bit tired but for £61 very good. Breakfast was excellent, poor waitress was running around like a headless chicken trying to cope, more staff possibly!!!!
Coffee in bar in the evening was disgusting and beer was poor and not cheap, £2.50 for a coffee which was undrinkable.Overall very good.

Room Tip: We had room 25 overlooking side with view of stables and scruffy horseboxes, was very quiet though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillye75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Managed to get a last minute booking as we were going to see Springsteen at the Ricoh arena. Very friendly staff. Room was spacious but very tired and dated particularly the bathroom. Lightbulbs had gone in two lights and my husband went to reception to seek new but nothing materialised. Handle for loo dropped off into toilet and decoration in all areas needs upgrading. Cobwebs in bathroom. Also hardly any staff about to say they were so busy. Only one man on when we returned in evening and he had to do bar and reception so we had a good 15 minute wait for our room key. Felt very sorry for breakfast waitress who had to cope on her own with a full dining room for breakfast. Good choice for breakfast and cooked breakfast was cooked to order and was served piping hot. Other guests had a longer wait. I recognise its expensive to refurbish areas but this hotel would benefit from a refit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
6.1 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
4.2 mi away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#23 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jacobean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jacobean Hotel

Property: The Jacobean Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England (Formerly Brooklands Grange Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Coventry
#10 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jacobean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Jacobean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklands Grange Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing