We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great last minute booking”
Review of The Jacobean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jacobean Hotel
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great last minute booking”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a very nice family run hotel. The owners acknowledge the decor is a little tired and say the bedrooms will be refurbished by the end of the year, but it is very clean. A lovely location near a quaint village and beautiful country park with walled garden. The staff are lovely and can't do enough for you. The breakfast was really good and waitress Paula extremely obliging. It is excellent value for money and a pleasurable relaxing experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    118
    52
    30
    26
See reviews for
92
115
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very nice reasonably priced hotel, staff pleasant, good location, good pub in village nearby. Room very comfortable and clean, agree a bit tired but for £61 very good. Breakfast was excellent, poor waitress was running around like a headless chicken trying to cope, more staff possibly!!!!
Coffee in bar in the evening was disgusting and beer was poor and not cheap, £2.50 for a coffee which was undrinkable.Overall very good.

Room Tip: We had room 25 overlooking side with view of stables and scruffy horseboxes, was very quiet though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillye75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Managed to get a last minute booking as we were going to see Springsteen at the Ricoh arena. Very friendly staff. Room was spacious but very tired and dated particularly the bathroom. Lightbulbs had gone in two lights and my husband went to reception to seek new but nothing materialised. Handle for loo dropped off into toilet and decoration in all areas needs upgrading. Cobwebs in bathroom. Also hardly any staff about to say they were so busy. Only one man on when we returned in evening and he had to do bar and reception so we had a good 15 minute wait for our room key. Felt very sorry for breakfast waitress who had to cope on her own with a full dining room for breakfast. Good choice for breakfast and cooked breakfast was cooked to order and was served piping hot. Other guests had a longer wait. I recognise its expensive to refurbish areas but this hotel would benefit from a refit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed last night at this hotel, found it to be very good value for money at £61 for 2 including full English breakfast. All the staff were pleasant and helpful, bedroom clean and tidy. Bonus was the mini bus arranged for us and other guests to the Rioch arena for the Bruce Springsteen concert - our reason for being in the area. Prompt and efficient service.Breakfast freshly cooked and decent coffee. Will certainly use this hotel again when we are next in the Coventry area.

Room Tip: Quieter at the back of the hotel away from car park and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shropshirelass56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times before, I had moved away from Coventry last year but it was nice to visit the city and stay at the Brooklands. At first I was a little weary about booking the hotel as the last time my wife and I had such a bad experience there. But we booked it and on arrival it looked like improvements had been made to the front of house. Clean and tidy with plenty of Parking. We were greeted by a gentlemen behind the reception, he seemed a little confused when I told him we had a reservation for one night. Once we got the key we headed to the room. Well the rooms haven't been refurbished for many many many many years. We were in room 24, very dark and very basic, Shame really as the room has potential. The carpet was badly worn and dull but looked clean. The Bed was very uncomfortable. There was your normal hotel room tea, coffee, colour tv, hair dryer. (Not very good) Basic clean bathroom and I was surprised there was no mould around the bath. I always rate a hotel on that and the Brooklands scored highly on that point. No mould mines clean air in the room. The hotel has a quiet bar area and sometimes you have to go looking for a member of staff to serve you. We didn't have an evening meal at the hotel but we did have breakfast. Very very nice indeed. I had a lovely cooked fresh English breakfast with fresh tea and plenty of toast to feed an army. Overall the hotel in my mind has come along way and although it had dropped in standards, the new management seems to be putting things right. Would I stay here again?? YES!! Would I recommend the hotel?? Maybe!! As long as the hotel keeps to the path their on, it should be a great hotel again and I look forward to trying the Brooklands Grange Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunwharf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
349 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Not 5 five but the staff are !! The hotel is very welcoming and thou not five star great value for the price. The hotel is clean with large rooms. The food is loverly with service being number one . The staff never stop always ready to please. Great value , Great service at a Great price . There will be a 3rd Visit. If passing give it a try I travel a lot and find it hard to find somewhere comfortable and relaxing ,, A 45 very close by for he airport

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMorriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Brill friendly atmosphere. Spotless rooms, cleaned daily, restaurant and chef different class. Standard? At the top!

:-)

8 guys staying here working away from home, very accommodating and helpful. Nothing was a problem.

Will be back if within touching distance!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
6.1 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jacobean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jacobean Hotel

Property: The Jacobean Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England (Formerly Brooklands Grange Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Coventry
#10 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jacobean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Jacobean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklands Grange Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing