We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For”
Review of The Jacobean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jacobean Hotel
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We selected this hotel as it was £50 for the night on a bed and breakfast basis and we were only travelling to the area to collect a new car thr following day.

On first sight the hotel was ok, nothing special, but ok. We had room 22, a large family room with a double and single bed. The radiators were broken and couldn't be turned off which meant the room was far too warm, we noticed a stain on the underside of the duvet having slept in the bed - ugh! We both woke up with bad backs too as the matress was very soft!

We ate at the Harvester Grill down the road which was lovely, and I'm glad we did as breakfast the next morning left a lot to be desired - my tea pot was dirty and had huge chips in it, the cups were heavily stained and the continental buffet was a bot of bowls filled with various items, rather than the individual portions you usually get at breakfast - I suppose this helped to keep costs down.

Overall, as I said in the title, you get what you pay for - the hotel was cheap and cheerful but not the sort of place I would stay in for pleasure, it was merely a means to an end.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amazingerika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan t, General Manager at The Jacobean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

We have taken over the hotel from the 18th of November, all previous reports are not a reflection to the present hotel owners and its goals. We welcome any previous customers to see the onward improvement to the hotel upgrading and its aims of being the best privately owned hotel in the Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 388 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2011

We arrived at 11pm after a long working day, we booked on laterooms only half an hour before arriving for £45 including breakfast which we thought was a good deal for 2 of us...Quick check in which was good and when we opened the door to our room we both did a double take...Absolute beautiful room with a 6ft gorgeous four poster bed, what a treat it was for us after a hard day..The breakfast was lovely, well cooked full english plus fruit cereal etc..The waitress was friendly and chatty.. We had stayed here once before when we were in the area and the room we had then was clean and comforable.. Definately would book again when we need a b & b in the area. Last minute booking worked really well for us although of course that wouldnt suit everybody..

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huffyhail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This hotel gives good value for money. All the staff that we were in contact with were very helpful and friendly.

We would go back again

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haygrovegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We have stayed here several times over the last couple of years....although the decor is a little tired the rooms have always been clean. Have to say despite the other comments we have always found he staff to be friendly and helpful. Haven't had an evening meal as we visit relatives who live locally but have had breakfast which is cooked to order and very nice.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyWanderers1542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

All in all a pleasant stay rooms are clean and tidy and priced accordingly, meals quite expensive for what they are, but the main problem is the horrible arrogant sloth behind the desk (sue?) she has the manners of a worthog, it baffled me how she has a job in that enviroment, maybe think about giving her a more suitable roll like mucking out the stables, apart from that it was ok.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aturner1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

we stayed here in December after our wedding. we were shown to our room with a gorgeous four-poster bed, the room was immaculately clean and was toasty...especially welcome with all the snow....the staff couldn't do enough to help us, we had told them we would be there about 3.30 and wondered whether we would be able to get something to eat, the chef stayed behind to prepare us a meal despite the fact the food ended at 2...the meal was lovely, as was the breakfast...it cost about £100 for the night but that included our meals and some drinks...we will definitely go back...maybe for our anniversary...hint hint hubby lol

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue3202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was a good value for money hotel. The family room for three was large and comfortable and well equipped. The furniture was very good. We paid £38 for this room which was cheap.

The only drawback was the standard of the service provided by the receptionists. One was a cudmurgeon and should not have been employed on a customer liaison duty. She was almost rude. The other was unhelpful but probably could do with some customer service training. We laughed at both (behind their backs) and it did not put us off.

We did not have any meals at the hotel. There was ample parking space.

There is a carvery opposite the hotel which is useful for budget holidays.

We would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room if possible' ours was a bit gloomy but perfectly acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gep2372010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
519 reviews
1.2 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,350 reviews
6.1 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
2.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
573 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jacobean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jacobean Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England (Formerly Brooklands Grange Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Coventry
#10 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: $47 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jacobean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Jacobean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklands Grange Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing