We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Good Value”
Review of Rupee Lounge

Rupee Lounge
Ranked #68 of 580 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Coventry
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Good Value”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Visited the Rupee Lounge on a Saturday evening. The restaurant was very busy, service a little slow but the food was delicious, starting with Sheek Kebab, and a Rupee Special for my main, which consisted of Tikka meat on skewers, with mince meat in a delicious sauce, topped with a King prawn. The restaurant is local for us, will definitely go again, will also try the Take Away service. House white wine was very nice, as was the Cobra beer.

The staff were very friendly, made us welcome and want to return, would definitely recommend. I was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews on here but we were very impressed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    28
    14
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Indian”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a great time here. The staff were very friendly and polite. They gave us time to browse the menu and we never felt rushed. The highlight for us was the quality of the food. Each dish seemed completely different in terms of the textures and colours and tasted just as good as it looked. The background music was subtle and unobtrusive, which complemented the modern décor. We'd definitely go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No Complaints from us.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice modern décor, very clean, service was friendly and efficient. Food selection catered admirably for the different palettes of our group and was of excellent quality. Have travelled and dined in many different countries and would consider the Rupee Lounge on the top end of my better eating establishments. Can not understand the negative comments posted, maybe you need to get out more often and experience other cultures.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tw0_Kiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No complaints!!!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Visited here tonight, although have been before and had takeaways. Very warm welcome, restaurant was busy. Nice contemporary decor. Service friendly and efficient. Food tasty, not at all greasy, presented nicely, just the right amount. Starter, main, naan, side, a drink for 2 people 32 pounds. Would definately recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Why was my previous review deleted?”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I wrote a review as we visited Rupee Lounge on the 29th June, after reading reports on Trip Advisor. the food quite frankly was "awful", all meals were "swimming in oil" when questioned this with the waiter he quoted "should have ordered olive oil", why I have no idea. the service was also very poor,
a new Restaurant with very poor food/service.
After having the last review deleted, or it has mysteriously gone missing, makes me lose faith in Tripadvisor

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank satex123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rupee Lounge also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Rupee Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing