We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Pub Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #67 of 568 Restaurants in Coventry
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dundee Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Not wanting to eat twice in the Hotel and seeking better value we ate here. Good menu and nice warm pub with an open fire. prices reasonable. Wide age group represented and its bright and modern in an old setting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UreDundeeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    45
    28
    15
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It's ok if you're looking for a ping ping dinner”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Old, dirty and the food was terrible, so if that's what you're looking for then give it a go. This place used to have a decent reputation but it certainly hasn't now.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brownie044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely garden and huge portions!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Typical pub grub, but lots and lots of it! The service was rather chaotic and the food was slow as a result. A little more organisation needed! The plates are enormous and the garden is a welcome place to collapse after eating! The zip line looks amazing but perhaps not after so many chips.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eve1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great play area”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and i took our 2 children yesterday as the sun was shining and the Bull and Butcher was full to over flowing. Lovely play area for children old and small. A lot of rubbish flying around which with the amount of staff they have could have been collected. We couldnt get in the restuarant which was fine as nice out. Stood wating to order the food for a good few minutes whilst the girls taking orders finished their conversation. My dinner was lovely had the prawn salad, my husband on the other hand ordered sausage and mash and that is literally all he got with gravy, we expected it would have come with vegetables but unfortunately not and with him being 16 stone and done a full 90minute extreme workout before hand he was not impressed and he ordered a pizza when we got home. Will return for the play area but will eat somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank My Thoughts a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be!”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We were very disappointed in our visit here. The service was poor, had to keep asking for waitress attention to take drinks order, then food order, then clear table. And there were plenty staff but all just standing about chatting between themselves. Gave up in the end and decided against having a sweet as were so fed up with the poor service. Food was nothing special either. Certainly wont be returning here. Used to be quite good but not any more.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagsMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing