We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous little place”

Playwrights cafe bar & bistro
Ranked #29 of 568 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous little place”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Lovely food, very comfortable surroundings and excellent service with sound knowledge of the menu. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    79
    25
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely! Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have always enjoyed going here. The staff are helpful and friendly and there is an extensive menu. The food is always fresh and well presented. Reasonably good value too and quite hearty portions. They serve a fish finger sandwich here which is an excellent menu choice!

Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finedinerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing find!!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I thought it was incredible. The food was delicious and cooked to perfection, the service was amazing I give the waiters, waitresses, chefs and the team provided an relaxing, calm and friendly environment totally recommend to anyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We called here on Sunday for lunch with our grandson after visiting the cathedral. We all We We called here for lunch on Sunday after visiting the Cathedral with our grandson. It is just around a corner. We enjoyed a delicious sandwiches. I ate here again on Wednesday for lunch. Salads are excellent. I can recommmend the blue cheese, walnut and apple salad!

It is a fairly small but it is clean,comfortable and welcoming place. Excellent service, staff were available but not fussy.

The menu is very comprehensive, from sandwiches to jacket potatoes to full meals.
I will be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lianne1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wedding breakfast”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We chose Playwrights to host our wedding breakfast after being impressed by the food and service on a few occasions. We were able to choose a hand full of starters mains and deserts to offer our guests and were guaranteed the exclusive use of the restaurant. We opted for bucks fizz, OJ and wine on arrival and coffee and mints after the three course meal. The food was served in very good time to all of our (45 or so) guests, the food was local and fresh and prepared to a very high standard and the service could not be faulted. The price per head was great value for money. All together we could not have asked for a better venue with friendly and personal service and we would highly recommend Playwrights for a celebration venue.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playwrights cafe bar & bistro also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
 

Been to Playwrights cafe bar & bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing