We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spon Gate

The Spon Gate
Ranked #142 of 564 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $1 - $17
Cuisines: Mexican, Indian, British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: JD Wetherspoon opened The Spon Gate in July 2010. It's name derives from one of the gates to the walled medieval city. Part of the city's SkyDome Leisure Complex it offers the perfect place to enjoy a meal throughout the day and a few drinks when visiting the ODEON cinema or after a bout of shopping at nearby IKEA. We pride ourselves on our food service, cleanliness and atmosphere we provide at any point during the day or night. Part of the Lloyds No.1 Brand, music is played in the evening and there is a live DJ Friday and Saturday meaning The Spon Gate provides a relaxed great value drinking and dining option while of an evening it transforms into one of the city's late night hot spots and a great place to party the night away till 3am at weekends!
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Like this pub for its breakfasts, typical chain restaurant, but food good all the same, skydome is good in daytime but find it bit rowdy In evenings so wouldn't take family at night, but would go with friends for night out, expect a fight to kick off in evening

Helpful?
Thank KukoSuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSponGate-Coventry, Manager at The Spon Gate, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hi KukoSuko!

Thanks for your comments regarding your visit to us.

Glad you enjoy the breakfasts, my favourite is the eggs benedict! If you've not tried it you must next time!!

Touch wood we have very little trouble on an evening, we try not to let the troublemakers in in the first place!!!

Hope to see you and your friends again soon!

Regards

The Spon Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    48
    18
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bedworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“New Year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our plans to be with family went belly-up !!! So instead of mopping about we decided to go into town and we where not sure where to go. We ended up in Wetherspoons. We left at 10.30, but the beer prices where not increased because of New Year. The music was great. What turned into been a dreadful night was a real special evening for me & my partner. 1st New Year together here to many more together. CHEERS !!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank cheekymonkey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Wetherspoons experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Visited with family. Service was good and friendly. No problems with food or drink. Nice atmosphere for family time before going to the pantomime at the Belgrade Theatre. Would recommend for early evening dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful service from Bouncers - avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

security very abusive, heavy handed management needs to change the security door staff ex specially the small bold guy - we work in Hilton hotel and would defiantly not allow those men working for anyone.
Definitely want come back here again. We are directors in our company and our money will be spent else where.
One Bold bouncer had breath of alcohol & when we confronted him the tall Asian guy stepped in and said " because we are in charge"
It's just sad the management are allowing this.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Want to be treated like cattle then visit here.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Cold airport like feel. Staff on shift always cleaning or on phones they seem as bored as we were
Food was ok like yhe wooden boards.
Just felt hurried like I was in a waiting room.
Could do with a management presence to check on staff.
Its location next to cinema is the only reasonto visit
Warning about music suddenly coming on at4 would hhave been nice

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spon Gate also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Spon Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing