We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
The Bulls Head Innkeeper's Lodge Meriden Restaurant
Ranked #62 of 577 Restaurants in Coventry
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nottingham
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Slick set-up”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I chanced upon the Bulls Head when I stayed at the nearby Best Western Hotel, and took a walk to see if there was a nice pub/eating place - hotel food is generally so bland.
The pub was very busy, but although I hadn't booked I only had to wait about 20 minutes to get a table. It's gastro grub - not at all bad. I had the burger and it was obviously home-made and well-cooked. Good real ales. Good atmosphere and obviously popular.
The whole operation seemed very well-run. Maybe a little too slick - you do get the impression that everything is too well-controlled, from the portions to the staff movements, even to the time allocated for customers to eat and drink.
But that's maybe being picky and I do think it's worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephenNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    210
    137
    97
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Standards slipping.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Food here can be good, but not when they are busy. Be sure to book a table, but allow plenty of time to get your food, ask for it hot, major problem, I had three cold meals in 10days! When they get it right the food is very good, but this time, pretty average, not cheap either!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cumbriagirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great roast and a lovely fire, what better way to spend a Sunday afternoon!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Went as a group of 3 adults and 2 children where we all had Sunday roasts. For £11.95 the food was very good and there was plenty of it, 3 meats, pigs in blankets, roasts, very big Yorkshire puds, etc!
The service was also excellent, they didn't serve the drink unusually have but they recommended an alternative I might like which was lovely. Special thanks to Amy who was especially helpful, my 5 year old nephew doesn't like loud bangs and felt quite nervous about the bottles of champagne on display in the window. When we explained this to her she was very quick to move them with no bother at all.
I will definately be returning and recommending to friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicole_hobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't listen to the knockers... It's brilliant!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

A gorgeous atmosphere as usual at this splendid restaurant. Food great, service fine. Company outstanding. Platter to share starter is worth every penny, excellent presentation, mains were superb, fresh produce, good quality and easily enough to fill. If you use this place for an atmospheric/up market eatery you'll not be let down.
Parking is good, Porsche garage opposite for the fellas. Good range of drinks and beers.
What's not to like???????
Ignore the idiots and one time wonders. This is a place I'm glad to advocate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johncoote69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good example of its type”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very welcoming atmosphere with competent staff . The food we had was good and there is a nice selection of beers and wines. Again they are working to a formula as part of a group but they do it very well. Everyone one else seemed very happy with theri food and it was busy on a snowy January night

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlewillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bulls Head Innkeeper's Lodge Meriden Restaurant also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Ansty, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Bulls Head Innkeeper's Lodge Meriden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing