We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was terrible”
Review of Stresa Kitchen - Coventry - CLOSED

Stresa Kitchen - Coventry
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Stresa restaurant and bar at Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry offers a contemporary British & Pan European inspired restaurant and is the place in Coventry to experience an authentic and modern dining experience. We are very proud that the restaurant has been awarded a Gold 2 Star Sustainability award in 2014. Stresa Restaurant is the perfect stop for a quick lunch or leisurely meal. Whether you are having an intimate meal for two, entertaining clients, enjoying a meal with your family, or throwing a party. Stresa is the perfect venue and offers the perfect setting anytime of the day or night.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The food was terrible”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We went to the restaurant based on the reviews here but were completely shocked as to how different our experience was. The ocean platter was worse quality than in an average fish & chips shop. The sirloin steak was dry. The turbot fish was not fresh and had rosemary in it which is not a seasoning appropriate for fish.
The wine was good, and the service was good as well as they accommodated us despite it being close to closing time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Munchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Manager at Stresa Kitchen - Coventry, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Munchy

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your visit to Stresa Coventry.

I am sorry to hear you were not happy with the quality of the food served during your visit. Please be assured that your comments have been discussed with my Head Chef and his Kitchen Team and corrective training has already begun.

I am glad to hear however you enjoyed the wine and were happy with the service you received during your meal.

I would be very happy to discuss these concerns with you direct, if you wish you can contact me direct on 02476 238110.

Kind Regards
Mark Hills
Food & Beverage Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    38
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry - UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fab food and service!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Tried this place out about a year ago, as its within walking distance from our house - wasnt sure what to think as we would never usually go to a restaurant within a hotel....what a pleasant surprise! Food is lovely (I have been back with friends on 4 occasions since, and they rave about it too) and service is great. I have had the garlic pizza bread as a shared starter and its lovely - very fresh. The seafood linguine, beef stew and belly pork dishes are fab. The only downside is that the lighting is very bright so you dont get the atmosphere you would get in a standard restaurant. Highly recommended for great italian food. If you have a tastecard all the better as this gets you 50% off the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebsCoventry_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Manager at Stresa Kitchen - Coventry, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear DebsCoventry

Thank you for your kind words. I am so happy to see that you and your friends have all enjoyed your experiences with us over the past year.

We have recently launched our new Summer Menu with lots of fresh and seasonal additions. We have also begun a new Stresa Loyally Card which entitles you to an array of discounts and priority bookings to all of our future events, beginning this Bank Holiday Weekend with live music and our Local Food Fayre Menu.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Stresa.

Mark H & The Stresa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Italian food well cooked”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Spent a pleasant evening in this restaurant. A varied Italian menu well presented and cooked to perfection. Service was also very good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LJB270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Manager at Stresa Kitchen - Coventry, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your great comments. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

The Stresa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“First class”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked a table for 22 people for a special family celebration - every query I had regarding parking, special dietary requirements and disabled access was answered promptly and efficiently. From the moment we arrived the staff were all so friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble, we only had to ask. It really adds to the occasion when the staff are all so pleasant and helpful. The food was delicious, freshly cooked and so tasty - great value when you consider the quality of what was served. Compliments to the chefs! The only downside was that the drinks are quite expensive, as is the case at most large hotels, but overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Stresa, a gem of a restaurant in the centre of the city, and look forward to going back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 240776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Manager at Stresa Kitchen - Coventry, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, I'm glad we were able to ensure your celebrations were a success. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

The Stresa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely food”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

had a really lovely meal with friends the food is very very good, very pleasant and helpful have a lovely evening

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Manager at Stresa Kitchen - Coventry, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for great feedback, we hope to see you again soon in Stresa.

Thank you
The Stresa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stresa Kitchen - Coventry also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing