We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
warrington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

As a platinum member I am staying in holiday inns every week. I agree with the previous reviewer about the staff here- they really stand out. The receptionist took time tonight to provide detail in eating options. I then decided to eat the Indian buffet in the restaurant. Not only was the food very good. My waitress Laura was lovely, went the extra mile and deserves recognition. Also the meal with 2 drinks for 20 pounds was great value!!
Great hotel with motivated staff

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank theseeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren C, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Theseeds,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff members really stood out. We do pride ourselves on having the very best staff who will always go that extra mile for our guest. I will be sure to mention your thanks to Laura and will alsomake her manager aware of the great work she and all our staff here do.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Darren Cooke General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    288
    137
    46
    22
See reviews for
111
133
31
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stay here on business every month and this hotel provides everything you need on site. Rooms can differ in size and newness of decor so I will be general. Rooms all clean, bedclothes crisp and white, towels white and fluffy. Bathroom immaculate. T.V.s good size and new flat screens. WiFi is reliable too.
Breakfasts varied and nicely done. Restaurant meals are ok just ok adequate for one night. Would hate to eat here for a couple of days though!
The best bit about this place is the staff. Reception staff are helpful, friendly and engaging and professional. The lady who shows you to your breakfast table is a lovely local lady. The cleaners raise their head to say hello too.
This has to be one of the better business hotels I've ever been at. Will be back for sure. Would recomend to anyone in the area. There is a swimming pool and stuff for those who are interested. The rooms are quiet in general.

Room Tip: Plead for a more modern room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparky-parrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren C, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Sparkyparrot,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found all aspects from the bedrooms to the breakfast an enjoyable experience. We aim for the highest quality service and clearly this has come across to you. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to those you have mentioned.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Yours Sincerely
Darren Cooke General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed sat night,very busy, but no problems for any staff to handle ,can only say what a nice clean friendly place to rest ones head,room spotless everything worked and food first class,breakfast was 5***** ,being a yorkshireman bar prices were dear but not a problem

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrythefingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
259 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was our 4th visit to this hotel as part of a large group weekend/reunion. The hotel is of a consistant standard. Rooms are very small, but ok for the purpose of just changing and sleeping there. I think our bed had a new mattress as it was comfortable and previous times we have found the mattresses uncomfortable., The reception area and bar areas are very pleasant. Drinks are quite expensive. Meals and breakfast are good quality and not too expensive when included in a package. Free wifi was a bonus for priority card holders. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are small except the executive ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren C, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Elizabeth526,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel. We love our reunions and those who attend as they make the atmosphere around the hotel electric. We are always striving to improve the hotel and your feedback helps us to improve in those areas.

We are pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us and look forward to a 5th year of serving you and your party.

Yours Sincerely
Darren Cooke General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Holiday Inn hotels are of a predictable standard, and usually, that is one of their attractions. When we need to stay overnight somewhere, we usually make an enquiry to see if there is a Holiday Inn nearby: only if there is not do we look otherwise. If we want romance, then we don't start with a Holiday Inn.

The M6J2 Holiday Inn was more predictable than most! The room layout was "Copy and Paste" from many others in which we have stayed, only it felt as if it had been re-sized to 90% of the others. I felt as if I had entered the Borrowers home!

Reception were friendly, and the free apples were a welcoming touch!

The room was cold. The window was open, the radiator turned off and the aircon set to a low temperature. There was a summer quilt on the bed. Clearly, I had managed to give someone the impression that Brown is a well-known Eskimo name, and 4oC was actually quite warm. Wrong! They did find another quilt for us and we did sleep well eventually.

This is a general complaint, why do hotelliers think that guests like their rooms freezing cold? Is it to save on the heating bills? We stayed in a hotel in Singapore where the aircon was set to 5oC when it was 30oC outside! The thermal shock as we walked into the room drove us to the bar whilst the room warmed up a little! But I digress.

Paying £3.70 for a coffee in the bar could not have been described as value-for-money, but otherwise the stay was. It was not bad, but to be honest, I have been to better.

Room Tip: Wear your thermals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAGBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear JAGBrown,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the temperature issue you experienced. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Rest assured that this matter will be looked into. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the manager on duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I arrived at the hotel at 8:30 in the evening after a busy couple of days and a long slog up the M1. I was greeted and made very welcome by the reception staff which helped me to start to wind- down and relax. The hotel is much bigger than it looks but the rooms I had was comfortable, quiet and clean. I was too late to eat dinner but the breakfast kept me going until the evening. Will be back when I next have to stay over in Coventry.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren C, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear ChrisH,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We like to consider ourselves a relaxing and comfortable place to stay when your away from home and we are very pleased to hear you felt the same way. Our reception team are always on hand with a welcoming smile and happy to help attitude especially after a very busy day . We do pride ourselves and our team work hard on making the guest experience a relaxing one, and we do hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Darren Cooke General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Visiting NEC for camping & caravan show we stayed here as a group of six. The accomodation and service were excellent. All staff were pleasant and happy. The restaurant and bars were very good. We had dinner and the food was excellent and served by very good waiters.
I recommend this hotel and will definitely visit again if in the area.
Well done to all staff.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jstan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren C, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear jswaudby,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We do hope you enjoyed the Camping & Caravan show.
We pride ourselves on providing the very best service to all our guests and are so please you enjoyed your time with us. We are very proud of all our staff and I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comment .

Once again thank you for your comments and we do hope to see you again soon.

Yours Sincerely
Darren Cooke General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
1.6 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
4.1 mi away
Citrus Hotel Coventry by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry East (M6,Jct2) Hotel
5.1 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#7 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2

Property: Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2
Address: Hinckley Road, Coventry CV2 2HP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coventry
#10 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Holiday Inn Coventry M6 J2 is a spacious purpose built hotel with air conditioning and high speed internet access. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of the historic city of Coventry. It enjoys a prime location benefiting from the motorway networks of the M6, the M1 and the M69. The Holiday Inn Coventry is only a 15 minute drive from Birmingham Airport and also a 15 minute drive from the Birmingham National Exhibition Centre (NEC). Coventry City Football Club's stadium, the Ricoh Arena, is just an 8 minute drive. They have hosted concerts like Oasis and Take That, the Rugby EDF Energy Cup Semi-Finals and the Midlands Motor Show. Also located beneath the arena is the 36m Isle of Capri Casino offering gaming and entertainment. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring Coventry and Warwickshire. Just a short drive from the hotel you can visit the historic castles of Kenilworth and Warwick, the stately homes and gardens at Stoneleigh Abbey and Coombe Abbey. For the motor enthusiast there is Silverstone and Mallory Park motor racing circuits, Coventry Transport Museum and the Heritage Motor Centre all within easy reach. Back in the hotel after a day exploring indulge yourself in our Spirit Health Club with Swimming Pool, before dining in our contemporary restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Coventry m6, Junction 2 Hotel Coventry
Coventry Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing