We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More or less what you expect from a HI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“More or less what you expect from a HI”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in October for a function, this is the second time we've stayed. On the Friday night we were supposed to be having a carvery but instead had to choose from very poor food, buffet style. There was fish and lasagne that had been poked about by other people before us. Really not very appertising. This also happened last year! The second night's function food was out of this world in comparison. The rooms are large and airy. We had a backfacing room which is great because you can watch the hares running about on the grass! We booked a smoking room which suits us, but the smell in the corridor of the first floor reeks! We had a bath and shower which is great. Next time I visit, I will be taking my own pillow as I couldn't stand either of those on offer in the room. The staff are helpful and polite. All in all, I think you get what you expect for a Holiday Inn. We had a set price for the weekend which included two days breakfasts and dinners plus 20% off of bar drinks. I noticed that the tarriff for one night without breakfast was almost as much as we paid for two nights including food and so I don't think I would visit if it was included in a deal though! The hotel is conveniently situated 30 seconds from Junction 2 on the M6 and is around a 15 minute drive to the middle of Coventry. There is a big Aldi's and Tescos next door and I think an Asda, apart from that there aren't any other shops except a MacDonalds and buses are few and far between.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    288
    137
    46
    22
See reviews for
111
133
31
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Advertised in the press was Autumn breaks for the Holiday Inn Coventry for £35 including breakfast. When I rang to book they quoted me £45 excluding breakfast on the Friday and £63 excluding breakfast on the Saturday. I booked with the Hilton Hotel for those days.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mwbcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night in October, plenty of parking, nice bar area (but the coffee bar was well overpriced), had a few problems with the evening meal but the restaurant manager sorted these out without any fuss, the usual the breakfast was good and there was plenty available even though the hotel had a huge school party in which almost filled the breakfast room. The swimming pool was average. Only bad part was the corridor outside the health club was very smelly, dont know if it is always like this as we only stayed for one saturday night.

Room Tip: Dont get a room next to the health club as the corridor there is a bit smelly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed for the October caravan show at the NEC. Booked 21 days ahead and had great value bed and breakfast deal. Hotel was very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. The bar was unable to provide some of the listed wines by the glass which was a bit surprising for a hotel of that standard but was a minor inconvenience. There was a slight booking glitch four days before arrival that took a few expensive phone calls to sort. I asked at reception if I could be compensated for that (more for inconvenience rather than cost as the glitch was their doing not mine) but no one was prepared to act. A free drink at the bar would have sorted that. A bit silly really. Hopefully thats just my experience and you will have a good stay as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UreDundeeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed 3 nights with several colleagues for a trade show. Platinum card holder and supposedly given an upgrade, but if that was an upgraded room I would not like to see the regular rooms.
Evidence that the floors were not vacuumed regularly, staff attitude very poor and service in restaurant was not up to scratch.

A complaint was also made about the taxi firm the hotel uses, but 2 weeks on and no response from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Fatrab,

Thank you for being one of our Priority Club Members and for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property. I am sorry to hear that the service you received was unacceptable. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our best to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I consider free wifi essential in this day and age. Yes, they do have wifi, but it has to be paid for. WHY???? Even hotels in third world countries have free wifi these days. And at Holiday Inn in USA it is free.
Otherwise, our room was comfortable and the food and service excellent. Staff mostly very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank briangwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Holiday Inns are what they are!
The service was good enough and we have praised this at another Holiday Inn before . . . BUT . . . .
the maintenance lets them down e.g. a missing end to the loo roll holder which meant it constantly fell on the floor and such an easy problem to correct. Just generally below par for cleanliness and maintenance.
The breakfast bacon was obviously 'cheap bulk bought not very nice stuff' and solid and dry. Not a good example at all to visitors. The cooked tomatoes weren't and that made them very difficult to eat. We did tell a very pleasant woman in the restaurant and she thanked us for our feedback.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Trainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
1.6 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,760 reviews
4.1 mi away
Citrus Hotel Coventry by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry East (M6,Jct2) Hotel
5.1 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2

Property: Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2
Address: Hinckley Road, Coventry CV2 2HP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coventry
#10 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Holiday Inn Coventry M6 J2 is a spacious purpose built hotel with air conditioning and high speed internet access. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of the historic city of Coventry. It enjoys a prime location benefiting from the motorway networks of the M6, the M1 and the M69. The Holiday Inn Coventry is only a 15 minute drive from Birmingham Airport and also a 15 minute drive from the Birmingham National Exhibition Centre (NEC). Coventry City Football Club's stadium, the Ricoh Arena, is just an 8 minute drive. They have hosted concerts like Oasis and Take That, the Rugby EDF Energy Cup Semi-Finals and the Midlands Motor Show. Also located beneath the arena is the 36m Isle of Capri Casino offering gaming and entertainment. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring Coventry and Warwickshire. Just a short drive from the hotel you can visit the historic castles of Kenilworth and Warwick, the stately homes and gardens at Stoneleigh Abbey and Coombe Abbey. For the motor enthusiast there is Silverstone and Mallory Park motor racing circuits, Coventry Transport Museum and the Heritage Motor Centre all within easy reach. Back in the hotel after a day exploring indulge yourself in our Spirit Health Club with Swimming Pool, before dining in our contemporary restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Coventry m6, Junction 2 Hotel Coventry
Coventry Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing