We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and chirpy”

The Hare and Hounds
Ranked #282 of 577 Restaurants in Coventry
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“cheap and chirpy”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

we attended the quiz night and it was enjoyable, drinks were reasonable prices and a good atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripMember011520162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    36
    23
    18
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“spur of the moment”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

typical pub menu generous portions, excellent food clean surrounding and and heated smoking area outside, staff polite and good service no back ground music and toilets out dated, no soap wash hands with

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernadette w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good pub food, atmosphere needs work.”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We popped along early evening midweek for a meal.

We asked for a table for two, were given two choices and opted for one in the main restaurant. We ordered a Scampi & a Steak & Ale pie. Many of the specials were unavailable as was the Rump Steak.

Both meals were huge and well cooked when they arrived, much more than we could eat. Simple enough food but very nice. Service was good, condiments fresh, especially tartar sauce, not the usually vinigary plastic sachet fair.

On the negative side; locals always turn and stare at whoever comes through the pub doors, restaurant not signed from bar area (tucked away), menus not cleaned and had sauce/gravy stains, very echoey atmosphere (perhaps deaden this with some soft furnishings), very noisy kitchen when doors swing open (could tell that the chef was having trouble finding my Scampi).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sammyD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff lovely... food not so good!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We visited the rest on a sunday for lunch..... brilliant play area for the children to keep them entertained. The staff where very friendly and welcoming, but i muct say the lunch was not so good. The beef was awful, and food was cold. I was very suprised as visited months ago and was lovely.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ipplechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely food great traditional pub.”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Food was gorgeous and the atmosphere was lovely. Moved into the bar afterwards which also is lovely with a relaxed feel.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Collie0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hare and Hounds also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing