We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality=Price”

Coventry City Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coventry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coventry City Hotel
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
An Accor traveler
Coventry, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed February 14, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 55 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

The only reason I'm giving this place two stars is because you can't expect much for the price. However, even a budget hotel should be clean, and this wasn't even that.

The positives: the staff were all incredibly friendly and kind, and we didn't have any problems checking on or with breakfast. Also, the location is pretty good as far as access to the city goes, and we did feel safe while staying there.

The rest, unfortunately, is bad.

It started when we walked from the bus station and spent twenty minutes wandering before we called and were told that we had to check in at the Ibis Hotel next door. Would have been a nice thing to know, yes?

Our room was ugly and lit with only a fluorescent light, but again we didn't expect much. What we did expect, however, was cleanliness; from the disgusting dripping stain on the wall to the musty-smelling bedspread I'm not sure we got even that.

Let me include this fact, for what it's worth: my husband and I are life-long budget travelers. We're not picky, and we don't ask for much when we pay so little... but even I couldn't give this place a good rating.

I will say that breakfast was adequate, and the food offered in the cafe throughout the rest of the day was ok (if you're in a hurry) and fairly priced.

But the toilets and the showers? Disgusting. The toilets didn't even have a wastebasket in them, and were typically awful-smelling and/or clogged. The showers all had hair all over them, and are the kind where you push the button for the water and get 30 seconds before it turns off. Again, typical budget hotel, but at least keep 'em clean.

If you can find anywhere else to stay in Coventry, please do. This place will do in a pinch, as it's a safe place to stay for cheap, but if you have options this should be the last of them.

Room Tip: Ask for one far from the bathrooms, as you'll get less traffic in front of your door that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PastryNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We are looking into the quality of linen and painting of the bedroom walls that you mentioned. Please, let me kindly notice that there is a sign at the main entrance to Formule 1 hotel informing that the guests need to check-in at the reception of adjacent ibis hotel. Unfortunately in UK Formule 1 reception desks are always located in ibis. I am very sorry that you have not found the communal bathrooms up to the cleaning standard we would expect. I am very sorry that we dissapointed you on this occassion. I will look into this matter. Please do not hesitate to contact me next time you are in Coventry so that I can offer you upgrade to ibis hotel next door. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The heater in the first room we got put in was broken, they moved us and put us in a room already occupied. We were eventually put into a vacant room. However we left the key card in the new room. I went to reception were they said the room had no one in it. Eventually got back into the room after what was a rude encounter with the receptionist and night security. The toilets and showers are self cleaned, ye right they smelt disgusting. Basic hygiene is disregarded here. The housekeeping made the beds in the morning but some sheets were dirty (not washed properly). To be honest this place should be shut down, No joke from what others I stayed with said, it a public brothels.

Room Tip: Don't stay there END OF!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAP91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

I am really sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t up to expectations. I would very much like to
discuss with you in person. Please could you contact me on h2793-gm@accor.com. Joanna/ General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Whilst the city centre location is good, does anyone realistically want a Hotel with communal toilets and showers?
The daily rate is high and they have the cheek to charge for parking!

Never again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. There is ibis hotel located just next door to Formule 1 which offers en suite accommodation with double showers. Please feel free to book on ibis hotel website shall en suite bedroom reflect better on your needs. Please, let me also explain that this is a very common practice to charge for a car park in centrally located hotels. Our competitors apply the same practise. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Good comfortable basic hotel excellent value for money .Toilets a bit stinky as usual but if you can hack that you can't go wrong .not in a bad area near to the ibis where breakfast is served as an all you can eat buffet format .The beds are always comfortable in these places.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilam188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2011

Thank you for your kind words. Such feedback is very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself. It is much appreciated if you raise any problems occuring in communal bathrooms during your stay so that we have a chance to rectify them immediately. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Joanna, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
11
Reviewed October 5, 2011

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveler
Coventry, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed October 3, 2011

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
3.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
0 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#17 of 39 in Coventry
600 reviews
4.3 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
3.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#19 of 39 in Coventry
531 reviews
1.6 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry City Hotel

Address: Mile Lane, Coventry CV1 2NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Coventry City Hotel Coventry
Formule 1 Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing