We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for - but this was no deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed October 21, 2012

As one reviewer stated, not great but poor value. Restaurant, service and food was very poor. They served us a pizza that they had found. Found? It was burned to the bottom of the plate.
Rooms are small which is okay, but no shampoo, face cloths, and other things that make a stay a little more inviting. People across the way were probably paying half as much as us for a stay just as comparable. And we won't even talk about the rip off of Wi-Fi or Broadband services. Inconsistent, over priced and left us feeling that we had paid a lot for very little. The Ibis in London was a bit better, but some of the staff were rude and quite a bit tert. The restaurant there was trying to be upscale and had a limited menu. And since they were basically the same items as the Coventry, we had no intention to get another burnt pizza or musy sausage.

Room Tip: There is really no difference betwee a twin and a double. Flip a coin.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. I have shared your feedback in regards to the pizza with the restaurant team. We can assure you the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly. At the same time I would like to inform you that in Ibis Hotels we apply 15 Minutes Satisfaction Guarantee Policy. This means that shall you be dissatisfied with your meal, the problem reported to our team will be resolved within 15 minutes or you will receive a full refund. I trust that you have taken advantage of that customer service promise. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Coventry Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 561 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Not great and poor value for money. Breakfast of economy sausages and rubbery scrambled eggs. No room service. I would advise doing your ironing in advance; no irons in rooms, instead they will write you out a code on a scrap of paper and tell you to go down to the ironing room, where there is one iron to meet the needs of the entire hotel, in it you will find a rickety ironing board with a loose cover. A skanky iron with a dirty sole plate, and a beer glass to fill the steam chamber. The light goes out every 5 minutes and the iron switches itself off of its own free will.
The hotel is clean and the staff helpful, but all in all a pretty miserable experience.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank maxwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments. I am glad that you found the hotel clean and the staff helpful. Please, let me inform you that the ironing room is inspected each morning by Head Housekeeper. I am sorry that at the time when you used it it was not up to the expected standard. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This Ibis is within a stones throw of a Formula 1 hotel! There was people playing cricket in the car park and sunbathing on their deck chairs!
The rooms are dirty and grotty; it's in major need of a update. The carpets need to be removed and the light sockets didn't work! I know it's a budget hotel but I've stayed in budget hotels and this is worse!
The food and the staff are amazing but we left a day early due to the room.

Room Tip: Rent somewhere else!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frisma82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you were not entirely satisfied with the standard of bedroom carpet and experienced problem with the bedroom socket. I have shared your comments with hotel Head Housekeeper and maintenance department. I am pleased to see that you found both hotel staff and the food satisfactory. We do apply 15 Minutes Satisfaction Policy in Ibis Hotels; shall the guest raise any concerns in regards to the stay, we will do our best in order to resolve it within 15 Minutes or process a refund if we fail to do so. As per the policy, the hotel staff would have moved your room rightaway shall you have reported any of the issues. Once again, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Pleasant and helpful staff. Room very clean, and well-designed bath-room allows maximum space for shower. Complimentary soap had pleasant eau-de-Cologne smell, but unfortunately the tea-bags & tea smelt and tasted of soap!
Evening-meal (Groupon menu) starter of olives & ciabatta, and baked beans at breakfast, were good, but otherwise, avoid the restaurant at all costs!! - The manager thinks chicken chasseur is made with bolognese sauce, the dessert was still deep-frozen (though we had had to order our meal 3 hours before!), and the breakfast scrambled eggs are made from a bought-in liquid mix and have the texture of half-set road-marking: those areonly the worst of the gripes!
Convenient for city centre; stop for buses 2 and 3a in near-by Quinton Road

Room Tip: The rooms away from the road are quieter
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carpender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your time to write a review. Due to very attractive price offered via Groupon vouchers, there is a special menu arranged for our guests as per the terms and conditions of the deal. I'm really sorry for the deplesant stayng at the restaurant and we have already changed the name of the dish that you have mentionned (chicken chasseur) even if the recept, in France, can include tomatoes sauce, mashrooms and shallots. For the dessert i have already shared you review with my staff and i'm sure that it will not happen again.
I would like to thank you for your comments. Please, rest re assured that they will be followed up with relevant hotel departments. Kind regards,Salvi Nicolas Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean, but there was a chemical type smell which could be smelt in the hall way and was very strong in my room.

Good location and value for money. Beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you veru much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have also shared your feedback with the team. Please, accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience encountered about the chemical smell on the room, i have shared your review with our housekeeping team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Nicolas / Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A nice simple hotel very close to the city centre. The room was big and very clean. Beds were very comfortable. Walking to the city centre was just 5 minutes. Breakfast was very good and everybody was very helpful. It is a good place to stay visiting Coventry. The area was quiet and safe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cycladesfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you veru much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have also shared your feedback with the team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Walking distance from railway station to hotel but have to use subway to get there (we managed to drag our bags there!). Front office staff were busy but efficient and no problems with check in. Encountered some hiccups with the key card (became invalid each day), phone not working but we didn't need to use it as reception was just a flight of steps down, toilet lever wasn't working and we had to use the toilet downstairs for one day as the mechanic wasn't available to fix it. Think the problem was peculiar to our room. However, overall experience was average, front office staff were helpful and did their utmost to help.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean_Tan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your comments with the team. Our maintenance engineer has now fixed the problems relating to the toilet flush and telephone socket. Please, accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience encountered. I would also like to apologise for the room card being deactivated. May I just kindly note that the room card strip may sometimes get deactivated when placed next to electronic device such as mobile phone. I would like to thank you for your positive review. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#27 of 39 in Coventry
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
3.9 mi away
Novotel Coventry
Novotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
552 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#19 of 39 in Coventry
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Coventry Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Coventry Centre

Address: Mile Lane, Coventry CV1 2LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: $59 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Coventry Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Coventry Centre is ideally located in the historic centre of Coventry, a short stroll from the busy shopping districts, 5-7 min walk from train station and 10 minutes by train or 20 by car car from Birmingham NEC. The hotel has 89 en-suite rooms with double showers, air cooling system, free wifi and tea and coffee making facilities. It has a restaurant open on most weekdays and a snack menu serving warm food 24/7. There is also a bar and private on-site car parking available for additional charge (£5 per vehicle per day). Wireless Internet is available in the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Coventry Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Coventry Centre Hotel Coventry
Accor Coventry Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing