We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sight seeing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coventry Cathedral

Coventry Cathedral
Ranked #3 of 64 things to do in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Celebrated as the UK's favourite 20th century building, Coventry Cathedral is known all over the world as a beautiful and unique venue. Designed by architect Sir Basil Spence following the bombing of the city in 1940 it was opened in 1962, and contains some of the finest examples of 1950's and 60's art and architecture in the country.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator
londonderryn,ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sight seeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

worth seeing old ruins and new building town has great shops for shopping I got a few bargains and had coffee no less than 5 times

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandyloughrey2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    885
    456
    107
    37
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Old and new”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We wandered around the old cathedral which was destroyed by incendiary bombs in the second world war but didn't go up the tower as our feet were aching from a lot of walking. The cathedral is quite moving and you are free to sit down or look around as you wish. We were going to visit the new cathedral but the admission fee was £8.00 each which we felt was too expensive

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SparkyMark56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Graduation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Awesome history and ambience. Very warm and lovely colored glass. A lot of walking. Poor signage. Courteous and lovely staff, at Coventry uni, wch is right in centre of town. I wish I stayed longer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank misbah k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Moving & poignant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

It's many years since I'd previously visited the Old & the New. I'd forgotten & not formerly appreciated the impact of seeing the ruins of the Old Cathedral, bombed during the war. It was a very cold, wet, misty & windy January day, when we visited, & these qualities added to the atmosphere.
We climbed the tower & looked over the city. Impressive & must be stunning on a clam, clear day.
Not quite sure what I make of the New & it wasn't well-accepted by some, when built. I'm a bit of a traditionalist but can still appreciate parts of the New, such as the lovely stained-glass. It's worth going to both to comapre & appreciate the contrasts.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nephthys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Brilliant Cathedral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Beautiful building and artwork and very welcoming.Just across the way is the original cathedral almost demolished by German bombers in world war 2.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank patc9Solihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coventry Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Coventry Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing