We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Child !!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DC-6 Diner

DC-6 Diner
Ranked #57 of 564 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big Child !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I recently visited here for my birthday. The idea of a air-plane dinner is novel and was a great experience, you are free to roam around the plane inside and out even sit in the cockpit.
The great thing about this is that the parts still move and when your eating your dinner and people are in the cockpit you hear and see things move.
The food was of a good standard but nothing to write home about, spend a bit more time on improving the quality of the products then it would be worth money.
The waitress were also very helpful, attentive and willing to help.
Great experience and worth a trip !!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marks1482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    129
    49
    25
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“A nice idea but a shame about the food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had heard about the diner from a friend and decided to give it a go for my parents birthdays.
The idea is a fantastic one and the set up us brilliant.
However I can't say much for the food.
There were 6 of us in our party and none of us really enjoyed what we had.
We had high hopes of the burgers, however they were dry, overcooked and not really the best quality meat. The chips were cool and not hot and the coleslaw that we ordered was very peppery and dry?
Startwea were ok but they were very poorly presented and we had to ask for things like plates to eat the 4 person platter with.
My farther in law had a chilli dog and it was the same chilli meat that was on the nachos we had with our starter. Which was even more disappointing.
All in all we all came away disappointed and certainly won't be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmmalou31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Novel idea, but not very welcoming!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked the DC6 Diner for midweek at 1pm, but owing to a travelling problem had to phone to say we were running an hour late and wouldn't be there until around 2pm. However the advert stated that dinner was served from 12:00-- until 3pm so thought we would still be OK. However, we were then told last orders would be taken at 2pm. We managed to arrive around 2:05pm and were immedediately under pressure by the young girl to get our order in as soon as possible as they closed at 3pm (the four of us did spend £108 that day)!. It was obvious the staff wanted to be away by 3pm so felt under pressure to eat and go!

The idea of the Diner is excellent and is such a novel idea. The food went down well with the grandkids although did not necessarily appeal to adults. It was just that this unnecessary pressure took the edge of the meal and we could have done without it! A bit of Customer 1st training is required here I think!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boeing747SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love the idea, shame though.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I took my father and family 10 of us to eat here, my Father loves planes so perfect... We had most of the plane to ourselves as we went Sunday afternoon. The setting is brilliant the concept is brilliant, the menu is adequate but fit the US diner idea.
One thing that bugged me, was that we wished to order four portions of fajita's to share to start while we chatted and talked about what to eat. This is not allowed the young girl said, i assumed she was joking, she wasn't! It upsets the kitchen i was told. So ordering food upsets the kitchen........ After discussion we all ordered mains and no starters, who missed out there i wonder?
If they don't want the business well lucky them.
We loved the place but i think a bit of staff training could be in order.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wickywoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Service from manager and staff exquisite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

An amazing experience from beginning to end...well done to russell and his team..a great time had by all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank huskyref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DC-6 Diner also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Baginton, Warwickshire
 
Baginton, Warwickshire
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to DC-6 Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing