We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent

Started with a cup of tea and a toasted current teacake in the café and the spent ages looking at... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
christineP8758QW
,
Preston, United Kingdom
Another flying visit to the transport museum

Another visit to the car museum (we come here regularly) and the kids never get bored of it. Its... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
chris h
via mobile
Read all 3,463 reviews
  
Reviews (3,463)
Filter reviews
3,364 results
Traveler rating
2,554
673
110
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,554
673
110
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews land speed record old cars motor industry thrust ssc free entry fastest car well worth a visit all ages classic cars couple of hours free attraction on display few hours blitz experience interactive displays gift shop rainy day
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,364 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Started with a cup of tea and a toasted current teacake in the café and the spent ages looking at all the vehicles. Topped by a ride in the simulator. What a great morning we had. Thank you.

Thank christineP8758QW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Another visit to the car museum (we come here regularly) and the kids never get bored of it.

Its even better since the "remodel"

Highly recommended

Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Visited here for the third time, yet more new exhibits to explore and plenty to keep us occupied. Even though I’m not a car fanatic, there were lots of things to see and do. Particularly enjoyed the war experience and the taxi ‘ride’ round Coventry with an extremely knowledgeable taxi driver! Those who want a more exciting time can for a fee, experience the land speed record being broken in the Thrust 2 simulator.
This museum is well worth a visit.

Thank ragpets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place even for non automotive fans.
The 3D ride is worth the little money they ask.
Only bad exhibit is the Coventry fc bus lol.

Well worth a visit if in Coventry.

Thank Danweave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a very nice wander around museum , lots of interesting things to see and quite informative , had been many years ago , but was lovely to revisit .

Thank Tonz121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic place - surprisingly a quite comprehensive collection but relatively off the beaten track - full of examples through the ages of the best in British (and foreign) cars and vehicles. Ford, Austin Morris (British Leyland), Vauxhall,..... all the big names are here.....and more. Plus bikes, motorbikes, vans, agricultural vehicles and scooters as well..... Along with Birmingham, Coventry was known as 'motor city' not just because of its underpasses and highways but because the heartland of British Car Manufacturing was here (along with Luton and Dagenham of course) and what an amazing legacy there is, even if now, sadly, those days are long gone into distant memory.

The interactive sections were very interesting and it was clear that you'd need to spend at least two hours to take in everything. Thankfully we had plenty of time as we spent almost four there in the end, as well as stopping by the cafe.

What's most amazing of all is that there is no admission charge either but donations are of course very much welcomed.

Thank njferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a brilliant place this was!
Free to enter, which is a rarity these days. Though you can pay £5 to go on the world landspeed record simulator, which we can't recommend enough, it was quite an experience!

Loads and loads of exhibits.
We spent almost 3 hours going round and could have quite easily spent another couple of hours here.

Thank Joolessheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not really sure where to start - we arrived at the museum around 11 bearing in mind that others had said to allow 2-3 hours to get around everything. It became apparent around 3pm that it was taking longer than expected & by the time we'd finished looking at the land speed cars, the museum was closing!! What a fantastic day out for free!

Only down side for me is that it would have been nice to see some of Coventry's speedway history represented.

Thank ADImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took the kids here today. They enjoyed it but I must say that we got round reasonably slowly in a couple of hours. It’s interesting. There are some beautiful cars and bikes to study and be impressed by. It wasn’t crowded. Parking round the corner was easy. There were stories well told about the motoring heritage of Coventry. And it’s free!
But we were peckish and the cafe was excellent. The bearded chap behind the counter was brilliant.....speedy service,lovely smoothies for kids,wonderfully fresh baguettes and tasty soup. All served with a smile . A pleasure eating there!

Thank NotLordPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for a couple of hours one afternoon with quite low expectations.

How wrong could we be? Such a lovely museum! The exhibits were well laid out in a spacious setting. There were so many to see too.

We enjoyed learning about some of Coventry's industrial heritage as well as being taken on a nostalgic journey in the more modern car section.

My only disappointment was that we hadn't allowed enough time for the visit. We were all so interested in everything that we should have allowed at least 3 hours.

There were a number of interactive exhibits that interested my 10 year old son.

I would have loved to have sat in some of the cars and imagined myself back in the 1920s experiencing the excitement of motor travel for the first time (instead of the thrill of driving round the Ring Road at rush hour!)

All in all, an excellent museum and, best of all, it's free!

Can't wait to go back.

1  Thank erindoors54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews