We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice historical displays”

Coventry Transport Museum
Ranked #1 of 77 things to do in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you're looking for a fantastic FREE day out for all the family, you can't beat Coventry Transport Museum. In the heart of Coventry city centre, this huge Museum is home to the world's largest collection of British road transport, and a visit whisks you away into a world of stories of real people, real passions and real hope.You'll discover the stories behind the people who made Coventry the centre of the world's motor and cycle industries, and get up close and personal with the actual vehicles that defined some of history's most important moments. The Museum is laid out as a journey through time - you'll wander 19th Century streets and discover the first bicycles, carriages and cars, then explore the first car factories and gasp as you witness their wartime destruction in the Blitz Experience. The journey continues through the Boomtown, Spirit of Speed and Ghost Town galleries to bring you right up to the present day.A visit to the Museum brings you face to face with Royal cars, military vehicles, and cars that played vital parts in their drivers' life stories - none more so than the current Land Speed Record holding vehicle, ThrustSSC, which lives at the Museum. Not only can you marvel at this spectacular piece of British engineering, you can experience for yourself what it's like to travel through the sound barrier at over 760mph in the ThrustSSC Simulator. ***Please Note*** Coventry Transport Museum is undergoing a major redevelopment programme during 2014 and the early part of 2015. The Museum remains open throughout this work but you are advised to check the Museum's website to see how your visit may be affected.***
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Thorold, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice historical displays”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a very well done museum! I really enjoyed my visit and learned a lot. I had no idea how important Coventry had been to the bicycle and car industry.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kitinefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,179
    589
    104
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“So much fun”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Absolutely amazing museum with a great collection of old cars. I absolutely adored every moment of it, it's lovely to walk around and see the development of the cars from a very early age till basically today. With the possibility to see changes in the designs of the cars as well as designs of their engines. If you love cars then this museum will take your breath away. Absolutely amazing, can't wait to go back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Worldbackpackrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Not many good museums are free to enter this was is not only free but is one of the best i have visited.
So many interactive displays, very educational and informative, if you visit Coventry this is a must see.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Level 6 Contributor
708 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Recommended by a friend we visited on a cold Monday morning with our 3 year old grandson. The museum even at 1015 was alive and busy with visitors including school parties. The new building (so much better than the old) is bright and light at the front though the rear areas are darker.
We spent about 2 hours there in total and our grandson, though too young to really interact, enjoyed pointing at the exhibits and trying to get close.
Good points – the historical ‘street’ scenes are well done and very authentic; the ‘blitz’ scene with lights and noises is good and not overpowering. The café is very pleasant. The shop is large and well stocked. The ‘Ghost Town’ exhibit is quite poignant. Obviously free admittance is a bonus though we fell for the £4.99 brochure. The collection of models is very good. Toilets are clean.
Not so good points – where was the Coventry FC ‘Cup Final’ bus? The thrust experience wasn’t available due to maintenance.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I went to this to get out of the snow, and while I am a car nut, and love English cars in particular, this museum left me cold. Maybe it was just the sense that it was trying to celebrate something that was long dead, but I just raced through the place without having anything capture my attention.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank vicguy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coventry Transport Museum also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Coventry Transport Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing