We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“learn the glorious history of Coventry here”

Herbert Art Gallery and Museum
Ranked #5 of 77 things to do in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“learn the glorious history of Coventry here”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Walk around the City of Coventry gallery and you will appreciate the long and full history of this ancient city.The exhibits are well laid out and there are sounds of the periods.,From Medieval prosperity with its textile industries to the Victorian era and ribbon making and on in to the 20th century with engineering and manufacturing periods.There are several other galleries with art and natural history and peace and reconciliation. Well worth spending an afternoon here to understand what Coventry is all about.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank colshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    182
    36
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal for a young family (Dinosaurs uncovered)”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We went to the Herbert today, led there by the allure of dinosaurs. The Dinosaurs Uncovered exhibition is an ideal size for young kids (mine are 4 and 2.5). There are enough Dinos to see so that each one is exciting for the kids but not too many so that they would feel overwhelmed or get bored. There are dinosaur jigsaws that appealed and there are more modern interactive exhibits with touch screens. The interactive colour a dinosaur exhibit is brilliant - the child (OK, maybe me a little bit) draws on a touch screen with some colours and the result is shown simultaneously up on a model using some clever lighting.

We spent about 1.5 - 2hrs in the dinosaur exhibit, had a break for coffee in the simple but nice cafe and then went to one of the main galleries Elements that had plenty to see and poke and touch.

A good trip out - who would have known there was actually something other than Ikea and Go Outdoors worth going to in Coventry! ;-)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DessertRatUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Visit With Our Grandson”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We found that the interactive exhibits were of interest to our 3 yr old grandson whilst many of the showcase exhibits were above his head.
The paintings and sculptures were not of the highest quality. The single Hepworth piece stood out of an otherwise lack-lustre display.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Lots to see and do, I enjoyed looking at the 1950s period as I can remember that time. Some of the art work was nice

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brummie1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Level 6 Contributor
708 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visited with my young grandson, drawn by the special 'Discover Dinosaurs' exihibit. THis cost £4.45 for each of us - free for our grandson. There are half a dozen representations of dinosaurs - very reptilian (two with animatronic movements) and giant size. 2 skeletons and some interactive displays. He enjoyed making a paper and pipe cleaner dinosaur and doing big jigsaws of dinosaurs. All in all he enjoyed it. Was it worth our money - just about!!

We wandered around other galleries - there is a very impressive Lowry on display - I thought the Peace and Reconciliation gallery was very poignant. There are things for children to do.

The cafe is bright with a good selection. The toilets are very modern and spotless.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herbert Art Gallery and Museum also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Herbert Art Gallery and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing