We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place but the Parking Charges!!!!”

Coombe Abbey Country Park
Ranked #4 of 77 things to do in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a family day out, or a quiet little picnic in the open air, visit Coombe Country Park. It offers 500 acres of beautiful gardens, woodland, lakeside walks, and bird watching. Visitor Centre: Shop, Information Centre, Cafe, Toilets, Baby Changing Facilities, Discovery Centre, Education Rooms, Conference and Event Facilities, Disabled Access Park Facilities: Picnic/BBQ Areas, Play Areas (Climbing Forest and Playground), Formal Gardens, Fishery, Bide Hide and SSSI, Duck and Swan Feeding, Pond Dipping Platforms, Woodland Trails, Birthday Parties, Family Events and Activities throughout the year - see our website for more details. Parking charges are as follows: *Cars Up to 1 hour - £1.00 Up to 2 hours - £2.00 2 to 4 hours - £3.80 All Day - £5.00 *Charge for both BLue Badge and Coventry Passport to Leisure Holders is £1 all day regardless of length of stay. Coaches - £25.00 Minibus - £10.00 We look forward to welcoming you into our award-winning Country Park
Bedworth UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Place but the Parking Charges!!!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I thought it was just me but after reading all the reviews I find many voice the same opinion - there is no need for these sky high car park charges!!! I love this place BUT I am loath to pay £3.70 to park for a quick stroll.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kayseypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    339
    77
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Coombe abbey is a lovely space to get away from the city life.
Lovely paths to walk along, lots of dog walkers ect.
A little cafe at the top which does jacket potatoes and such like food as well as a little shop and nature bits and bobs.
The play areas for the kids are nice, there are 2 one at the 'top' of the park and one at the 'bottom'. This place is buzzing on bank holidays ect, people take bbq's and picnics and its a great atmosphere.

The only downside to this is the car park, not so much the parking you can always get a space whether it is on the gravel or the grass, its the price I think its £3.80 now but it is all day & if you are there all day (dawn til dusk) then that is a good price but if your just taking the kids on the swings or a for a walk it is a lot of money, so often we ride our bikes up there as we dont live to far.

If you go, enjoy just being outside and away from the buzz of the city.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cat Fleur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A great place to wander around and walk the dog”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Situated on the outskirts of Coventry, around an old country house, now a hotel, you can just rock up in your car and have a good wander in a tranquil environment in Middle England. Nothing spectacular, nothing particularly touristy, just a good place to go.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank oggiebedworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice park”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The grounds of coombe abby are very impressive. however the car park is expensive in my opinion. There is a visitors center and a cafe which only serves food at certain times. Toilets. there are paths to walk around but i think there needs to be more. There is a lake where you can feed the ducks/swans. There are 2 play areas which have lots of equipment. Personally I think the memorial park is better and its free. yes i would go again and yes would recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Eye-watering car-park prices”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The park can be quite pleasant, however the car-park costs are astronomical, and driving is the only way to get there. You can find swathes of the park off-limits when the hotel is hosting a wedding.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heurrgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coombe Abbey Country Park also viewed

 

Been to Coombe Abbey Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing