We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dismal, depressing, very run down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Coventry
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Lenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dismal, depressing, very run down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Dismal exterior and interior not much better. Very run down, rooms were surface clean but looked grotty because all the furnishings etc were so dated. Horrible carpet. Tiles missing from back of toilet and holes in wall - stuffed with newspaper. Having arrived late, we went into the buffet just before 9pm - it was open until 9.15pm. The remanants that they proposed to offer us as guests were pathetic and we left. Bar staff were pleasant and but front desk staff and restaurant staff were unwelcoming and off hand. Breakfast time was chaos - not enough staff on to clean tables fast enough. I would not recommend and will not use again. Grim !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    210
    277
    257
    475
See reviews for
151
370
110
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Having read the previous reviews of this hotel, I came to it with some trepidation., But from the first sight of reception, it was not too bad at all. Staff were excellent, if overstretched. The room was spacious, clean and a very comfortable bed. Clean towels were provided every day as well.
There were criticisms here about dirty windows but considering the height, structure and location of the hotel as it spans a main street, this is a very minor fault. The food was good, even though there was a very limited choice. The bargain rate must be kept in mind when looking at what the hotel can provide. My one criticism of the Bentley restaurant was that there was little room to move at the cereals and toast area at breakfast and starters at dinner. The lifts caused a little problem due to what seemed to be guests trying to override the automatic controls. Otherwise the lifts were fine.
It has an ideal location beside the Cathedral and the excellent Motor Museum, with a Sainsburys about 30 yards away and the Broadgate shopping centre with Lady Godiva less than 5 minutes walk distant. Bar prices were very reasonable but the only entertainment was a DJ who was quite forgettable,
I must say I enjoyed my experience here and I would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Don't stay here, go somewhere else where you as a customer will be valued, food rubbish, customer service not existent, we booked an alarm call that never happened and when we mentioned it at reception on booking out we're laughed at, receptionist said oh they are always doing that!!, whole hotel is tatty, bedrooms smell of mould remover and cigarettes, you cannot open windows but if you could you would close them again, because of the noise of traffic. The bus station and the student accommodation next door! And the smell from the 5 takeaways the hotel shares the road with, although they were useful as you couldn't eat the rubbish dished up in the hotel. We didn't book this hotel directly ourselves it was part of a coach trip but please if you are reading this or any of the ads for the hotel before you book, think twice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Situated adjacent to Coventry cathedral makes the hotel an ideal place to stay.Also very convenient for the city centre.
My wife and I stayed for a three night National holidays excursion and for the reasonable price we paid we couldn't complain about the facilities.We were on a half board basis and found the meals quite satisfactory although due to the number of coach parties in the hotel,the dining room was quite hectic at times.
Our room on the seventh floor was quite spacious with plenty of drawer and wardrobe space and comfortable beds.There was plenty of hot water in the bathroom and fresh toileteries were supplied daily as were the tea and coffee making facilities.
Considering the number of guests,the hotel was kept clean and although it looks fairly grim from the outside it's the interior that really matters.

Room Tip: A lower floor would be good as at times there was only one lift in service
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goron58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went on this trip with National..it was a 3 night stay for under a hundred quid..
We first read the reviews on Tripadvisor and was put off a little but had to go as had booked it.
The hotel itself looks very grim and uninviting outside due to it's 60's concrete block styling..but inside is a little better with a reasonable reception. The bar area leaves alot to be desired however, as the tables are all scuffed on the edges and look very tatty. The sofas are also abit low and sunk in with use. Music was provided on two nights by a low key disco set up. The bar prices were very reasonable however..we all commented on that.
The dining room was ok but the service was very erratic due to there being 4 sittings as there were quite a few coachloads staying..the food was not replenished quickly enough to cope with demand and many times items were missing or none were left. The food wasnt as bad as I had feared and we had 3 courses and quite a lot of choice.. The breakfasts were also filling if they kept the supply running to cope. I felt a little sorry for the staff as they seemed to be trying hard to do the best they could with the limited resources they were presented with.
Our room was on the 4th floor. It was quite large with a table, 2 chairs, dressing table and chair, 2 sets of drawers, a wardrobe area and quite a high bed.
The towels were changed daily and the bedding looked reasonably clean.
The bathroom was a disappointment as the sink was very stained and the flooring lino was ripped near the loo so it looked old and shabby...but everything worked, we had hot showers and replenished toiletries daily. Our view was the town and nearby Motor Museum which is worth a visit and is free.
The hotel is next to the Cathedral literally and also next to the shopping area, so in a good position for visiting both. It does front a busy road though but we didnt have any problems with it.,
Our trip to Coventry included excursions..some good some not so good but for the money it was very good value..

Room Tip: There are 3 lifts at the hotel..(though only 2 working whilst we were there) ..they were needed as 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janbilly32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was okay for th price paid, but we would defiantly not be returning.
We stayed for 3 nights and every night our towels were dirty and stained, to which we had to keep asking for them to be changed, we also felt the staff was a little rude a times when we was requiring our towels to be replaced.
Unfortunately we also had the bad luck of our shower have two temperatures freezing or boiling hot... I. Which staff agreed to fix but the shower remained very temperamental throughout our stay.
The room was overall quite dirty with stains on the carpet, very dirty windows and bed sheets not too clean and additionally the wall paper was falling off the walls.
The meals was okay, the meals consisted of a cavery with a number of different options , a couple of options for starters namely salad or soup and a variety of desserts which were very nice.
Alternatively there is a lovely local pub close by around ten fifteen minutes walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatashaNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

we travelled with national holidays from Hartlepool where at Middlesbrough the coach broke down for over an hour then we made our way to Coventry then as we got down country we were told by our driver our dinner time would be 8-15 now by anybodys standards this is late but as I have said before on these trips you are at the mercy of the driver who,s job it is to book the coach in and so our dinner was 8.15 and breakfast 9.15 which means last. our room was a good room not clean but adequate there was no entertainment the food was good but not great but with 6 coaches in and no staff the the result was chaos and when you are last there are things missing from the menu there was no scrambled egg at breakfast..we had two excursions one to Stamford and on return the coach duly broke down again ... when we booked this break the hotel was kept a secret it is not hard to guess why

Room Tip: when you look at this hotel from outside it is a wonder anyone goes in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Coventry

Property: Britannia Hotel Coventry
Address: Fairfax Street | Cathedral Square, Coventry CV1 5RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the City, the Britannia Coventry Hotel adjoins the famous Coventry Cathedral, a tourist favourite. Formerly a DeVere Hotel, located right in the heart of Coventry city centre with department stores and designer shops close by making this a fantastic choice out of all the hotels in Coventry to base your short stay break from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Hotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing