We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Hotel Coventry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Coventry
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was appauling, stained carpets, peeling wall paper, old wall paper visible under top layer, cellotape sticking the wall paper together.. Strange stains on the wall paper, windows so dirty you couldn't see out of them. Stained coffee cups. Smell of bleach so strong when we opened the bathroom door it was over whelming.
The so called hot breakfast had to be taken back serveral times, before it was hot enough to eat.

Don't ever stay there.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 13sjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    208
    273
    256
    470
See reviews for
151
369
107
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I attended a party here tonight,(the party was lovely) from the outside it's not the most inviting place you could visit, very dirty stonework and windows! The reception area is quite stark, tired looking sofa's and carpet gaffer taped to the floor. I saw no receptionists at all. One of the lifts was out if order, the others were extremely slow, gave up waiting and used the stairs. The carpets had seen better days.
I unfortunately went to visit the toilets-they made me gag! The stench was literally breath taking, light bulbs weren't working, only 2of the 4sinks were usable.
The room the party was in had a big damp looking stain on the ceiling and even a half washed off Christmas snowflake sprayed onto one of the floor to ceiling mirrors!

I won't be going back there again and certainly won't be recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jezkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived as a party of 3 mature ladies, after booking a 3 night stay with national travel,
On arrival we were handed our keys to the 6th floor room 601, when we heard a voice shout out "it gets worse the further levels you go"? And to our disgust the voice was correct, dirty unwashed nets window sails rotting, the window actually fell out!!! Lino lifting in the bathroom, paint peeling and a terrible smell of damp! Bedding was clean light above bed had fallen out switches left hanging out and bare, no wardrobe doors?! Staff on reception ok but could be better, kitchen staff ignorant breakfast was ok evening meal was terrible... Trips out with Michael the bus driver which was booked through national was excellent 5stars!!!!
Drunks and outsiders were allowed into hotel for happy hour which we had to sit through all the disgusting language?!
The switch on the lift on 6th floor was broken!?
The whole building needs to be closed down and quick in my opinion! People who rate this place as "excellent" are obviously very easily pleased! no revamp needed for this place but simply demolition!! I came home with a tummy bug :-(
Food poision to be exact...

Very unhappy with stay at hotel but 5star to national bus travel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madonna1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in huddersfield
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

At reception the hotel is advertising one night at £100 b & b, I hope this is not in the rooms assigned to coach parties [ like ours ] and contractors, as the standard is way below par in the bathrooms, in the dining rooms we all eat from the same trough and the evening meals were very good, biggest problem here was the slowness of the staff to bring through more plates and dishes, some not properly washed, to prevent queues forming, likewise food tureens stood empty until staff were informed, obviously they chose not to observe this for themselves. I would recommend a major update was needed in the bedrooms if it were not for the titbit of info that the Hotel was due to close and be converted to student accommodation, which is a shame as its location is absolutely perfect, in the shadow of Coventry Cathedral with the bus station and Motor Museum almost on the doorstep and tons of shops round the corner. Many of the bedrooms bridge a dual carriageway though this did not pose a problem with sleeping as it was mainly used by the busses.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldieInHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have stayed 5 nights in here and was an awful experience as being for the first time in UK. Luckily this is not representative for UK. When check in, we were forced to pay in full the total booked period. The breakfast was poor and the room was dirty. After big discussions and arguing to the reception, they sent the cleaning, but still dirty, dusty and grey everything. The bathroom was.. guess !!, as well as the room. The general look is that the hotel is not renovated since second world war, but this is not the main problem. They really need to improve the services and even some of the staff needs training. Far away from 3 stars hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denisart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having spent time looking for the bright white hotel pictured on the website we discovered a grey looking building with the same name. The hotel was dated and in need of a face lift. Our room on the sixth floor was on a corridor that was being painted. The bedroom was disappointing with no doors on the wardrobe, the bath had lost its soap holder leaving a sharp edge to the tiles and the pillows one each were flat and lumpy.

The hotel was full of people attending the Bruce Springsteen concert and the bar was open when everyone returned. There was only one person behind the bar who did his best to serve drinks and change barrels on his own. The only good thing about the hotel was the price of the drinks. A large glass of wine and a pint of lager for £5.10.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a real faulty towers hotel slept on top of bed with a towel on pillow and as a cover as not happy with lumpy bed etc!! No lock to attach safety chain on, woken up at 6.45 by fire alarm again at 9.45 is this the wake up call!!!! reception staff could do with a course in all areas. If you do not like your job there are plenty of others that would with a smile.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#26 of 39 in Coventry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Coventry

Property: Britannia Hotel Coventry
Address: Fairfax Street | Cathedral Square, Coventry CV1 5RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the City, the Britannia Coventry Hotel adjoins the famous Coventry Cathedral, a tourist favourite. Formerly a DeVere Hotel, located right in the heart of Coventry city centre with department stores and designer shops close by making this a fantastic choice out of all the hotels in Coventry to base your short stay break from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Britannia Hotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing