We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad stay, but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Coventry
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times so I know what to expect. It has many good sides, but it has a couple of bad sides too. One of the big pluses is its location, next door to the Cathedral so it's an ideal base for exploring Coventry. The staff are friendly and the rooms are reasonably clean and comfy. The downside is the restaurant. The decor is getting tired, curtains are literally hanging off the rails and it needs a clean up. You shouldn't expect to see dusty decor while you're eating. But the food is good and you do get reasonable portions. One thing that confused me though was the menu, it was the same on Monday as on Wednesday without explanation. That was disappointing. Overall, not bad.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank MrJROConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 1,388 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a National Holidays break to Stamford & Midsomer Villages. The location was good, but other than that, there is not much going for this hotel. The outside of the building is very off-putting and smacks of neglect. The room was a fair size, the windows were filthy and either streaming in condensation or the curtains were flapping because of the draught. The bedding was clean, but extremely shabby. The food was of low quality, and they had two sittings as they could not cope with the numbers. The curtains hung at the windows in the dining room & lounge in a very haphazard fashion. My fork was actually stuck to the table on the first night, the table being very sticky, as was the floor in lots of places and I was conscious of my shoes sticking. A dusty footprint on the inside of the lift door where somebody had kicked it remained for the duration of our visit and the entrance doors were covered in fingerprints. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geordiedorseteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

From the outside, it is clear that this hotel is not worthy of architectural merit! Sadly though, beneath it's very plain, grubby-looking concrete facade is a hotel which isn't much better on the inside.

The hotel is very centrally located and the rooms are undeniably generous in size. However, the hotel feels incredibly tired and the windows have clearly not been cleaned for some time (if ever). In actual fact, I stayed in a room where a previous occupant had used the net curtain (yes they have net curtains on the windows!), as a cloth in a vain attempt to remove some of the caked on grime from the outside.

Further signs of ageing can be found in the bathroom, which whilst perfectly adequate, shows the age of the building and is very possibly the original sanitaryware complete with warped wooden bath panel.

I have mixed feelings on this hotel as I dare say for the convenience of location I would stay again. However, my expectations would be realistically low!

Room Tip: Rooms across the road facing the city centre enjoy the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wycombe-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Please IGNORE negative comments on this hotel--went there on a David Urquhart mystery holiday and was somewhat dubious as to the standards i would find based on previous comments--I needn't have worried--this is a very pleasant hotel in an excellent position within Coventry--the staff were very friendly and helpful--my partner asked for a change of room as i have mobility issues and the original was on the 6th floor-this request was dealt with within 5 minutes and a 3rd floor room provided--this was exceptional customer service and was typical of the efficiency and pleasantness from all staff.
The problems indicated on previous comments regarding fire alarms in the night and lifts not working simply did not happen--the comments appear to be deliberately negative to who knows what end--they are simply rubbish.
It is true that the hotel is a little tired --it could do with a makeover- but this is not a major issue and the food was generally both varied and hot--with a delay on just one occasion of approx 10 mins but an immediate apology was proffered and this did not cause any problems whatsoever.
My birthday was on the third day of the holiday-Thurs 11/04 --and this had been mentioned in passing on Monday to 2 very nice managers and i thought no more of this--On Thursday i was given a bottle of wine-courtesy of those managers-a very nice touch which made me feel special--they should be proud of themselves.
Overall a very pleasant stay at a decent hotel--i can heartily recommend it

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Britannia Hotels are normally good value for money if you book in advance or book a pakage. I have stayed at at least 10 different ones. They are not 5 star Hotels and nobody should expect this. However the quality of the catering and the attitude of the zombie staff at the Britannia Coventry is truely abysmal. The breakfast is the worst I have ever had at any hotel or B&B in the UK.

Despite having set meal times, we had to queue up everyday in a freezing lobby before the staff allowed us into the dining room. It was immediately obvious that the restaurant facilities in this Hotel were completely inadequate for the number of guests. Both the breakfast and evening meal were self-service. This is fine if there is actually sufficient food for you to serve yourself to, and the plates are at least warm. However throughout our stay, they had ran out of most of the basic breakfast items and when asked to replace them the staff, who I can only describe as being like zombies, just walked away and ignored everyone. In addition, the plates were so cold that I think they came out of a freezer.

Without listing everything that was wrong, which would cover at least 3 pages, the fiasco with the tea and coffee in the morning is a good illustration of how bad the catering was. In order to serve yourself to a cup of tea of coffee you need the following to be available together cups, tea or coffee, milk, teaspoons, sugar. There was not one single occasion when all of these were available together. If there was tea or coffee, there were no cups or milk. When the staff finally turned up with the milk or cups (never both together) the coffee (which I must add was the most dreadful Coffee I have ever tasted), was cold. This complete lack of the staff ability or willingness to be able to provide the very basis essentials also applied to cereals, toast, and all the components of the breakfast

I must also add that the range of what was available was the most basic we have ever received at a Britannia Hotel. For example, there was no, perseveres etc and only Bacon, Sausage, Fried Eggs and Beans (when these were actual available together).

The only really good thing about this Hotel is the location. But if you can stay somewhere else in Coventry, try the Covenrty Hills Hotel, which is a much better Britannia Hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terence g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The definition of faded glory. The location is great, but no amount of flags will disguise the broken and neglected interior. Breakfast was alright, in a truck stop kind of way, but we didn't eat or drink there at any other time - so can't really comment, but if they're anything like the rest of the hotel, they could be summed up much the same. A mess.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCat_IsHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Reception staff business like yet friendly. No complaints.

A liitle difficult to find a phone number for the hotel but email was responded to quickly.

Nothing else to add really. Am typing this to give the required number of characters. I am not verbose.



  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#19 of 39 in Coventry
539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#27 of 39 in Coventry
514 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Coventry

Address: Fairfax Street | Cathedral Square, Coventry CV1 5RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range: $54 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the City, the Britannia Coventry Hotel adjoins the famous Coventry Cathedral, a tourist favourite. Formerly a DeVere Hotel, located right in the heart of Coventry city centre with department stores and designer shops close by making this a fantastic choice out of all the hotels in Coventry to base your short stay break from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Hotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing