We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“desprate need of a update.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coventry Hill Hotel
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Went hear with David Urquhart the staff are very helpful but the whole hotel is in need of a refurbish.
Rooms and beds were clean and so was the bathroom. but the wallpaper is hanging from walls around the window and windows are not too clean inside and out old ali frames. rooms are warm.
There were 5 half full coaches in when we were there and when we went to breakfast and dinner we had to wait for either plates rolls or food when ther was some there it was cold and plates were cold as well. No entertainment and nothing around hotel to do only one pub about 15 mins walk away.
We did have a good trip to Warwick castle well worth a vistis.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

The hotel, as its name suggests, is up on a hill. It is close by the main road. There's little else of note around.

Arriving here on first sight I wanted to turn around and go somewhere else. The outside is a dump. It has been seriously neglected: uneven and lose paving, generally over grown with weeds.

Inside it is improves a little. Our room was really tired with old weathered furniture. The TV was a 14" portable with only a few channels tuned and a broken remote control. The battery cover was missing and its replacement sellotape had worn away meaning the batteries fell out. The room had been given running repairs. The internal door handle was loose, the lock had been replaced and was not the easiest to operate. There was water damage to the carpet near the bathroom door. The bath was worn. The cistern top must have been damaged as it had been replaced with one that was too large and that interfered with the flush handle. The bathroom did at least look clean and the shower worked.

The minimum of toiletries were provided. The towels were so small. Almost a face cloth and a hand towel. There was no bathroom floor mat.

There's no Wifi in the rooms. There is wifi access in the reception area where there is comfortable seating. But for a hotel that boasts conference facilities this is a joke.

The restaurant is clean. The staff were pleasant but lacked basic hospitality skills. Tea and coffee were available, but from the reception are. None was offered. The food was mediocre. It appeared to be directly out of the freezer. Breakfast was ample but again very cheap and basically prepared. As for the toaster, well good luck, at least it was amusing.

Everything is very, very low budget. I suggest you pay a bit extra somewhere else and get some value. If cost is the bottom line, then it's clean. But eat out.

This place is so, so tired. It's the first and last Britannia hotel I will use if this is their standard.

Room Tip: Some where else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJG300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The hotel was very cold in the dining room,bar and lounge, with the air conditioning on full blast .Asked 3 times if they could be turned off or turn the heating on but waste of time. The food was poor, vegetables undercooked, kept running out of some food so had to wait ages for it to be replaced. the soup was lukewarm. had to ask if we could have a dessert as there wasn't any left (our mealtime was the last one 7pm). The chamber maid took the hand towel but didn't replace it so had to go to reception to get another one. Altogether not a hotel I would reccommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

stayed here in October when we went on a national express holiday when we pulled up I thought it look like a prison but when book in to our room it was light and airie over look the car park .in the morning we had a great breakfast went out for the day & came back to a good evening meal the entertainment was good at night. four nights that we really enjoyed

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Having read some of the reviews for this hotel we were not really looking forward to staying here,however we were more than pleased with our stay ..the hotel was very clean as was our room, the bed linen & towels were spotless, yes the decor was not "boutique" style but we didn't pay boutique prices...the food was very good & plentiful, it ticked all the boxes as far as we were concerned, we were on a national holidays 4 day trip to Oxford & Stratford...which was excellent value for money, the trips were very good despite a very "unenthusiastic" driver...the passengers more than made up for him & we had a lot of laughs. We will definitely be doing another National trip !!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Yeadoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Travelled on a Caledonia coach tour with my mum and daughter. Was very worried about the hotel after reading reviews on here but have stated in brittania Hotels before and know what they are like!

The outside of the building dies not do any justice to the hotel, the reception area, bar and restaurant could be doing with a bit of work but our family bedroom was OK, furniture old fashioned but clean, bedding was all new and although we faced out to the motorway (with lovely views over the golf course) we all slept well. Bathroom again was old but shower was good and big fluffy clean towels.

The staff were all pleasant enough and helpful.

Meals were fine at night if you chose what looked the hottest, I had to take the scampi back as it was frozen but most things were fine, plenty of choice, a salad bar & then loads if choice for desert. Breakfast was fine again if you chose from the things that were the warmest or had just been brought through.

We had entertainment 1 night out of the three nights we were there which was bingo, a music quiz and then music, it was fine, my wee girl loved it when she won the bingo and couldn't wait to spend her £20 winnings the next day in Oxford!

For the £89pp we paid for our coach, 3 nights dbb and 2 excursions I don't expect to stay in the Ritz,as long as it's clean, which our family room certainly was.

Don't be put off with bad reports, go and enjoy, especially if you are on a coach trip and away out everyday. Either that or pay lots more and stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AYRSHIREBOYDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Approaching the hotel it looks like a 1950's office block. Once inside, the hotel is clean and the reception staff friendly. Our room was clean and well decorated. The food on offer was very tasty BUT the choice was minimal. As a carvery you would expect a small wait but going on for ten minutes for the starter and near;y fifteen minutes for the main was not too good. There was only one person working the carvery for approx 100 people. The shame is that all the staff were really helpful and friendly and the hotel itself was clean in all the public areas. I can not see me returning and would hope that National Holidays try and do something about the service in the carvery.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
519 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ibis Coventry South
Ibis Coventry South
#31 of 39 in Coventry
395 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
489 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
570 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Hill Hotel

Address: Birmingham Road Rye Hill | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range: $41 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coventry Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Coventry Hill Hotel is a modern hotel offering a spacious reception area, fantastic restaurant and comfortable rooms. It is situated close to the A45, which connects Coventry and Birmingham and is located just 9 miles from Birmingham Airport. If you are looking for Coventry Hotels close to the airport, this is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Coventry Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing