We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very smelly and dirty” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coventry Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coventry Hill Hotel
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very smelly and dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

Stayed 1 night at this hotel as I was visiting the Motability Roadshow in Stoneleigh Park. Hotel looked good on the website, £46 for room and breakfast which i thought was quite cheap. Arrived at Hotel and my first impressions where OMG what have I let myself in for. Went to my room and it was absolutelly horrible, the tv was'nt working and bed wasnt made, the toilet was (well I'll leave that to your imagination). Went to reception to complain, Got relocated to the room next door which was seriously smelly. but at least the tv was working and the bathroom was ok. could'nt make any coffee though as the cup was filthy. This place needs closing down period. I'll never stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffm1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    189
    310
    201
    382
See reviews for
168
374
82
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2008

My husband is staying at this hotel just now. We booked this hotel as we were informed it had a hotel shuttle bus. Next phone call to book the bus we were told that they used to have one but not anymore. Next phone call to manager it emerged that they have never had one and it wasn`t their problem that the central reservation staff told us this. Husband was given wrong key for room, paid some-one else`s restaurant bill and the receptionist was angry with him!? Trying to get through to reception so I can get through to the room but no-one seems to want to answer the phone all evening. By the sounds of it, it appears to be pretty grotty and the level of English spoken by staff very poor. The manager is extremely arrogant aswell.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank madabouthotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2008

The hotel itself is clean (despite an odour of fried food throughout the ground floor upon arrival) but the decor, fixtures and fittings of the hotel have barely been touched since it was built in the 1970s. The carpets are bright orange and gaundy bedspreads and chair covers are abundant! The varnish on the desk had worn off and there was mould growing on some of the bathroom sealant. There was a hole in a small area of the carpet. The bed linen was clean and in good condition but it was a sheets and blanket affair with no duvet.

Basically, not up to the standards of a 21st-century hotel.

  • Liked — Cheap price
  • Disliked — Noise of adjacent A45 in the morning due to lack of double glazing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2008

I have just spent one night at this hotel with my mum and my two children. It is the most appalling hotel i have ever stayed in. We booked a family room and it was damp and smelly with mould and peeling wallpaper round the window. One of my childrens bed was right next to this! The carpet was all ripped, the headboards filthy and the mattresses needed replacing. The staff didn't seem bothered when we told them and asked for a new room as they said they didn't have any more rooms free even though the hotel seemed quiet. For the money we paid i would have rather slept in a tent! What a rip off DONT GO!!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2008

Booked this hotel for overnight stay for early flight from Birmingham Airport. I then read the reviews and wished I had not. But, we were very pleasantly surprised, very helpful reception staff, room large, clean bathroom a little warn, the food smelt appetizing and the broad rage of people staying seemed to be enjoying themselves. Don't be put off by the reviews, it's not a county house hotel but easy to find and convenient fuss free transfer to the Airports are offered. Good experience

  • Liked — near airport and price
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjmbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2008

The word dump is an understatement! From the reception to the bedrooms this hotel is in much need of modernizing. Its easier if I just list the issues I had during my stay.

1. Only one person at reception and had to wait what seemed an age to get served.
2. I was given a smoking room when I had booked a non smoking, could not change it until spoke to manager next day.
3. There was a joining room, very noisy and bad smell of smoke coming through.
4. Wallpaper curling up on wall.
5. Problems with TV picture (had to mess about with aerial to get it working)
6. Furniture old/damaged (chips out of table etc)
7. Bed pillows smell really bad (smoke)
8. Shower not draining properly, standing in water above ankles (long hair floating in water)
9. Half empty bottle of Coke on Bathroom floor when I arrived.
10. Windows not closing properly and windows were whistling all night (very windy night)
11. Damp on shower ceiling.
12. Empty vending machine in fact it was not even in use.
13. Restaurant does not open until after 7pm
14. Generally run down / dated décor throughout hotel.

They have a nerve to charge average prices for this area. I would avoid if at all possible.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hart222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2007

Just returned from a 2 day trip with National Express, and had the misfortune to end up at this hotel. We are a family of 4, and booked 2 rooms together - unfortunately they were on seperate floors, and when we asked the receptionist if she could do something about it, she was extremely rude and said she couldn't reallocate rooms at this time of day (although there was another two coaches behind us and she could have been a bit more helpful). One of the rooms stank of cigarette smoke, and we had to leave the window open all night to breathe some fresh air. The worst part was the dining arrangements. We never got to see the dining room, as our party was shoved off into the bleakest function room I have ever seen, to dine at the 'carvery'. The excuse for turkey was ready sliced congealing in fat, as were the veg - no staff on hand, salt and pepper in paper sachets - transport caff style ! Unbelieveable. Then the desert - 3 Sarah Lee Frozen Gateaux (still frozen!) for us to help ourselves ! Thought that was bad, until breakfast. We were told to go to the same function room, where breakfast was laid out. There were not enough cups for everyone, we had one teaspoon between 10 of us - no staff on hand, and I had to navigate my way down to the kitchen to ask for some service ! When they eventually turned up, and we politely asked for serving implements to help ourselves to the rapidly congealing breakfast, we were told to 'calm down and stop complaining'. The tea and coffee were served in those horrible thermostatic jugs, and the orange juice ran out and was not refilled, despite loads of requests. Unbelieveably, they are advertising rooms in the hotel for £ 145 per night - they have to be joking !! Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone - glad we were only there one night (and the bar was horrifically expensive too!)

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank TynesideHogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#26 of 39 in Coventry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Beechwood Hotel
The Beechwood Hotel
#28 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Jacobean Hotel
The Jacobean Hotel
#20 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Hill Hotel

Property: Coventry Hill Hotel
Address: Birmingham Road Rye Hill | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coventry Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Coventry Hill Hotel is a modern hotel offering a spacious reception area, fantastic restaurant and comfortable rooms. It is situated close to the A45, which connects Coventry and Birmingham and is located just 9 miles from Birmingham Airport. If you are looking for Coventry Hotels close to the airport, this is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Coventry Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing