We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disgusting hole”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coventry Hill Hotel
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
milton keynes
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“disgusting hole”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

on arriving the beds had nice clean sheets but that was about it, the floor was dirty with previous occupants, the carpet was all stained, the bathroom stank not even clean, hairs all in the bath,the food was disgusting, i wouldnt serve this to my dog,this hotel have a cheak to charge people to stay here, it needs bulldozing down, would never stay at these hotels again,sat outside for a bit of sunshine for 10 minutes amongst dirty glasses crisps packets and even dirty nappies thrown on the floor from the evening before no bins anywhere, dont stay here its rotten.

Room Tip: dont book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twofatladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    190
    310
    207
    389
See reviews for
171
377
82
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We travelled with National to this hotel in June and were not expecting too much, but what we found was fine. From the outside it is not appealling and does resemble a tower block but we were inside looking out and the views were good. Our room was modern and clean and no stains on the carpet or upholstery. The food was plentyful and good with plenty of choice. There were close on 300 hundred people in the hotel and if you stuck to your allotted time for the meal there was plenty to go round. Where this failed a bit was on the morning of departure when people (incuding us) tried to jump the gun and get served early which caused some unnecessary queueing. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the lifts worked. There was entertainment on two nights out of three. The village nearby was worth a visit 15-20mins walk to the first pub The Rainbow. There are buses at regular intervals and it is about two stops from the hotel. We would go again to this hotel and with National.

Room Tip: There must be good views from all the higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandPtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

went on a 3 night stay.hotel shabby but clean, Evening meals were well prepared and good choices,breakfasts had a very good selection of cereals and when i asked if there was porridge it was made.There was a good choice of cooked food.The staff were always pleasant and helpful at all times.

Room Tip: view the room before you accept
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlediky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. What a hole. On arrival it was more in keeping with a tower block in need of demolition. (I think a coach had tried with the entrance). The room was two single beds that looked clean but very uncomfotable. The toilet and shower were not clean and you would take you health in your hands if you used it. Shower head was yellow with scum.
The chair in the room looked like someone had soiled it and stains all over the carpet. You would not want to work around in you bare feet. Wallpaper black and pealing all around the windows.
Food in the restaurant was edible but far from appealing.
Plenty of staff to look after you who were very attentitve. Customers and staff deserve much better!!

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, Nr Hull
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had an early morning flight to catch and only wanted a bed for 5 or 6 hours. Our room was very tired and the plumbing did not function in accordance with normal usage, and the wallpaper was coming away from the wall. We arrived early enough to enjoy an evening meal and booked in for dinner. (alas) When we went through, it was not a restaurant but a self service cafeteria which resembled a works canteen more than anything else. Not all the food on the menu was available, and what was there did not look too palatable. We are no spring chickens, but busloads of oldies were arriving and they were surging into the restaurant 50 or more at a time, and I think that I counted six or seven buses there on that night.
At the end of the day, we booked it because it was cheap, as we were taking our grand-daughter to the airport, and had to tale two rooms which cost £84.00 total.
Good points? We bought an acceptable bottle of Pino Grigio for £9.99 and only paid 3 x £9.99 for a three course meal. Also, the staff were good considering what they must go through on a daily basis

Room Tip: See it first and check the plumbing. Our sink was 90% blocked and we never found any hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Shabby hotel, rooms in need of a maintenance if not a complete facelift.
Bed uncomfortable, no air con

Ended up staying here even though we booked into the a sister hotel closer to the Ricoh, hotel was full of disgruntled customers who weren't staying in the hotel they had booked, as was determined by a show of hands in the bar after the show.

For information £15 taxi fare to the Ricoh from here.

Only thing going for the place were the people on reception who were doing there best to help in difficult circumstances.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

our only advice if your thinking of booking this hotel DON'T !!!
We had booked into the royal court,but lo & behold along with many other people we arrive at Royal court after a five hour drive from Pembrokeshire to be told the Royal court was full although it was only 2.oopm & we were told booking in was from 2.oopm.we were sent to thier "sister hotel" coventry hill hotel, Oh dear the standard of the hotel was immediatly obvious from the dirty unkempt outside to the worn & scruffy reception the only redeeming feature of the whole experience was the very good staff, because whatever they were being paid couldnt have compensated for what they had to put up with. There were scores of people very very angry it transpired that everybody had been booked into the Royal court & then been sent over to the hill hotel certainly not what any of us had booked,at best this was a fiasco but more honestly we felt it was more like FRAUD it was too late to book anywhere else. Worse was to come, when we eventually got to our room it was dirty,carpet worn torn & unclean not only stained but not vacumed either, on seeing the floor I checked out the matress!!!!! it was in tatters it was stained & the matress casing was rotten & torn to shreds. The matress cover was digusting, dirty & covered in hair of differing types . To be fair we had new mattresses after I complained bitterly & told them I had taken pictures of it along with the dirty room &wallpaper hanging of the non to clean walls .
However to add insult to injury we were miles from the venue a shuttle was available for some but couldnt accomodate everyone & wasn;t available to take you back & taxis couldnt be got for love nor money to prebook it was a nightmare, as some of the people couldnt get to the venue.and that was the very reason they had gone there in the first place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Beechwood Hotel
The Beechwood Hotel
#26 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Jacobean Hotel
The Jacobean Hotel
#20 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Hill Hotel

Property: Coventry Hill Hotel
Address: Birmingham Road Rye Hill | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coventry Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Coventry Hill Hotel is a modern hotel offering a spacious reception area, fantastic restaurant and comfortable rooms. It is situated close to the A45, which connects Coventry and Birmingham and is located just 9 miles from Birmingham Airport. If you are looking for Coventry Hotels close to the airport, this is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coventry Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing