We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this filthy grotty Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coventry Hill Hotel
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Avoid this filthy grotty Hotel”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is the worst dirty grotty run down hotel I have ever stayed in. The wallpaper was falling off the wall in the bedroom, the window frame was covered in grime / mold, the bathroom was disgusting! mildew on the tiles, filthy floor grout, filthy shower head, enamel missing in big chunks from the bath. I did not eat in the Hotel after seeing what they think is acceptable accommodation, I dread to think what they think is acceptable standards of food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EwanHossami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    194
    314
    212
    401
See reviews for
178
383
84
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Welcome reception, friendly staff, free paper, stayed for one night, shabby on the outside, a bit dated but clean and basic, big enough for the purpose, nice to have real furniture for a change and I like the old fashioned look, what do you want for £34 a night? breakfast also good value at 5.95, hot and always topping up.

Spent an evening in the bar, good atmosphere, 2 coach trips, good location for NEC and cheaper.

Good night sleep, quiet, dark room, comfy bed.

Nowhere to walk to nearby.
Would stay again! excellent value for money

Room Tip: no problem with 2nd floor overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coupleguildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is probabley the worst airport parking hotel Ive styed in. It is way beyond needing someTLC. It needs a full re vamp. Tap continuously running, wall paper coming off the walls, leg missing from sofa, tv set from the dark ages to lisf but a few.
Good job we are only here for one night.
Dont book this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacko-Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coventry hotels

Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stay quite often at britannia hotels. I have stayed here before and the food was ok. This time it was awful. We told the waiter who just replied oh. The rooms are clean but very basic and small. I asked for a disabled room and was given a tiny double room. The reception area seating is very well worn. But it does having free car parking facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doodoosManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Thankfully we only stayed one night at this relic from the concrete jungle. On arrival we waited for about three minutes whilst the sole receptionist managed to serve us. The rooms are clean but dated and the beds must rate in the guiness book of records for lack of comfort. The bathrooms were disgusting - two tone grout in black and white. The meal table we were given seemed like a works canteen, although some coach guests were sat at reasonable tables. The transport arranged was 20 minutes late and then only after chasing. All in all the worst place I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: My advice would be go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Witwatersrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just back from a National Holiday break with friends. The hotel room was adequate for one night. Beds were clean and comfortable. I thought the toilet could be cleaner. Evening meal was nice..turkey,stuffing and trimmings. Desserts were lovely. Again,breakfast was not bad.Choice of cooked, toast, fruit and croissants, also cereal.
Bedroom was warm, but we found the lounge area cold, as the main entrance is close to the seating area. The whole hotel would benefit from a complete refurbishment and looks very tired, dowdy and dated. This is a budget hotel and ok for the price

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

One night stay on a National Holiday trip. Lots of plus points to be honest. Nice, friendly and helpful staff. Adequate rooms that were clean and well equipped. My only particular bugbear was the vegetarian option at dinner. I suppose this is a small glitch in the scheme of things, as my husband said the meat option was fine.

Ok so everything was tired and bordering on shabby but it was clean and warm enough and we were only there for one night so it was all good. It was a cheap deal and no major complaints.

I would stay here again if we were in the area, as it's a budget place and perfectly fine.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavegirls_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
502 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
4.3 mi away
Ibis Coventry South
Ibis Coventry South
#31 of 39 in Coventry
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#27 of 39 in Coventry
473 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
551 reviews
1.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Hill Hotel

Property: Coventry Hill Hotel
Address: Birmingham Road Rye Hill | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coventry Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Coventry Hill Hotel is a modern hotel offering a spacious reception area, fantastic restaurant and comfortable rooms. It is situated close to the A45, which connects Coventry and Birmingham and is located just 9 miles from Birmingham Airport. If you are looking for Coventry Hotels close to the airport, this is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Coventry Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing