We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overdue makeover required”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coventry Hill Hotel
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is probabley the worst airport parking hotel Ive styed in. It is way beyond needing someTLC. It needs a full re vamp. Tap continuously running, wall paper coming off the walls, leg missing from sofa, tv set from the dark ages to lisf but a few.
Good job we are only here for one night.
Dont book this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacko-Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stay quite often at britannia hotels. I have stayed here before and the food was ok. This time it was awful. We told the waiter who just replied oh. The rooms are clean but very basic and small. I asked for a disabled room and was given a tiny double room. The reception area seating is very well worn. But it does having free car parking facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doodoosManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Thankfully we only stayed one night at this relic from the concrete jungle. On arrival we waited for about three minutes whilst the sole receptionist managed to serve us. The rooms are clean but dated and the beds must rate in the guiness book of records for lack of comfort. The bathrooms were disgusting - two tone grout in black and white. The meal table we were given seemed like a works canteen, although some coach guests were sat at reasonable tables. The transport arranged was 20 minutes late and then only after chasing. All in all the worst place I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: My advice would be go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Witwatersrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just back from a National Holiday break with friends. The hotel room was adequate for one night. Beds were clean and comfortable. I thought the toilet could be cleaner. Evening meal was nice..turkey,stuffing and trimmings. Desserts were lovely. Again,breakfast was not bad.Choice of cooked, toast, fruit and croissants, also cereal.
Bedroom was warm, but we found the lounge area cold, as the main entrance is close to the seating area. The whole hotel would benefit from a complete refurbishment and looks very tired, dowdy and dated. This is a budget hotel and ok for the price

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

One night stay on a National Holiday trip. Lots of plus points to be honest. Nice, friendly and helpful staff. Adequate rooms that were clean and well equipped. My only particular bugbear was the vegetarian option at dinner. I suppose this is a small glitch in the scheme of things, as my husband said the meat option was fine.

Ok so everything was tired and bordering on shabby but it was clean and warm enough and we were only there for one night so it was all good. It was a cheap deal and no major complaints.

I would stay here again if we were in the area, as it's a budget place and perfectly fine.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cavegirls_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hello
Been on lots of national holidays,And always been happy .Not this time the hotel was just a nightmare, Hotel staff were just rude and the chief who served us dinner was just nasty , and even though hotel room and hotel was nice the staff let it down big time ,

Room Tip: Just do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phillip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We recently used this hotel for a nights stay prior to travelling abroad. The main advantage being the use of the car park for the week and transfer to and from the airport.

Simply, don't bother.

Hotel is old and showing its age, arrived late at night to complete darkness outside, car-park is unlit, entrance uninviting and easily missed from the outside.

Reception area is dated and seen better days, entrance through to lifts/rooms requires use of a security keypad thats old, unhygienic and wouldn't stop a would-be intruder.

Our room wasn't any better, cold on arrival, dated, worn and not worth the money we paid. Damage to wall hidden behind curtains, heating made a noise but was needed due to how cold the room was. Bathroom seemed like an after thought.

The worst part though was the breakfast, we paid an extra £10 per person for a full english which turned out to be a hot buffet presented in a "don't touch me" kind of way. Most food, including toast were sat under heat lamps that kept everything luke warm at best.

Transfer to the airport is by taxi, return is on the hour every hour which means you may end up sitting around for a while. It's also not as close as you would expect, a good ten minute drive away from the airport.

We've learnt our lesson and will simply pay the higher airport parking fees and eat in the airport next time.

Some say you get what you pay for, but in this case you are simply ripped off for poor service and bad quality.

I wouldn't stay or eat here again, even if it was free.

Room Tip: Stay at home, travel early and eat/park at the airport instead. The extra cost will prevent your hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank le6o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#19 of 39 in Coventry
530 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
4.3 mi away
Ibis Coventry South
Ibis Coventry South
#32 of 39 in Coventry
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
596 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
499 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Hill Hotel

Address: Birmingham Road Rye Hill | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range: $38 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coventry Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Coventry Hill Hotel is a modern hotel offering a spacious reception area, fantastic restaurant and comfortable rooms. It is situated close to the A45, which connects Coventry and Birmingham and is located just 9 miles from Birmingham Airport. If you are looking for Coventry Hotels close to the airport, this is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coventry Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing