We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coventry Hill Hotel
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Value Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on the 26th January 2013 on a trip with National Holidays. My sister was in room 200 and I had room 201. they were both nicely decorated clean comfortable warm quiet rooms which overlooked the back of the hotel, not the dual carriageway that runs in front of the hotel. We had a three course meal with a choice for each course, afterwards there was entertainment provided. The breakfast next morning was very good with plenty of choice.The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, I would without doubt stay at this hotel again. Prior to going on this trip I checked the comments for this hotel on trip advisor and almost cancelled my trip due to the adverse comments made which leaves me wondering just what do some people expect from a hotel, I have paid far more than this for accomodation and been bitterly dissapointed. If you have a problem of any sort it is common sense to tell the staff and give them chance to sort it out for you, dont suffer in silence then moan about it on trip advisor, more fool you! There is only one adverse comment I wish to make, the 26th was a bitterly cold night with a gale force wind blowing consequently every time the main door to the hotel was opened the gale force wind blew into the reception and bar area creating a chilly atmosphere, perhaps management should consider investing in a heater over the door area, this would make visitors in the bar more comfortable and keep them there a little longer giving you a return on your investment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that DOES NOT overlook the dual carriageway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    190
    310
    206
    389
See reviews for
171
377
82
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Rooms are outdated - but they are clean, tidy and the stay was good. Room was only £35 so pretty cheap, and the beds were comfy, TV channels were plentiful and the room was spotless. The car park had been gritted and cleared due to the snow. and the staff on reception were helpful and fine. Would stop again at these prices

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank covlad1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had to move from room 242 due to the Damp smell and wet carpet. Moved to room 321, this was better, but still very grubby. The chair and sofa looked filthy, i could not bring myself to sit on them. Went for dinner at the Ramada, wish we had stayed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redblueblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here on a coach trip with Just Go holidays and, after reading some of the negative reviews, I was very pleasantly surprised. I honestly don't know what people expect for the money! The room was perfectly clean with clean bedding. It was lovely and warm despite the arctic conditions outside, and there was tons of red hot water. O K the decor was a little tired but for the price we paid it was perfectly adequate. We had clean towels, extra pillows and blankets (which we didnt need) and plenty of tea and coffee. The TV was in good working order. Really what more can you ask for? The evening meals were excellent, served hot and plenty to choose from. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. My only negative comment would be that there were no fried eggs only scrambled, but that certainly didnt spoil my holiday! If you are looking for a 5 star restaurant and 5 star rooms then you would need to pay a much higher price than the Coventry Hill is charging. I don't think some of the complaints left by other reviewers are justified at all.

Room Tip: We had a lovely view of the snow topped trees from room 408 and it was very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliebpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

stayed here with a trip from national nice hotel at a very good price quality 3 course diner bar fine good drinks . rooms fair size well equiped comfy beds. if I had to make a negative comment the breakfeast could have been warmer.but overall very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borochesney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We arrived and went for Dinner.
Burnt Meat and half cooked vegetables.....
Rooms were a bit tired and grubby but not too cold after we stuffed some towels in the holes where the old A/C sets used to be...
Breakfast was cheap bread half toasted,a pile of half cooked broken up black pudding,a tureen of white stuff we thought was porridge but in fact was scrambled eggs,sweaty bacon and Tesco sausidges with smart price beans....Yummy
Rather sleep in the car

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickmckeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I booked the Coventry Hill Hotel through Late Rooms. The overnite stay and breakfast cost me £35.00. If you have a choice dont stay here. Ok its cheap but if you are paying anymore than £30.00 try somewhere else. This hotel is part of the Britania Group and I guess its the forgotten hotel by the group. Its worth the ownere bulldozing this place and starting again. Its well outdated and dirty. Ther building is an eyesore and if you are using satnav to find this place be prepared to end up in a field. You wont miss this hotel its likened to a Multistory carpark. As you drive in the grounds are dirty and unclean. Litter dotted around.
I must say the staff were ok and booking in no problem. I stayed in room 519. This faced the main road and its very noisey at night. The room was outdated and although clean the wallpaper was coming away, the sideboards falling apart and in the bathroom covered in white sealer. The TV was about 30 years old and i could only find 2 channels. Couldnt sleep due to the noise and in the morning I had breakfast. They do a buffet breakfast and I found it tasteless. .
I would give the hotel 1 out of 10 for trying. If I had the choice of staying here or in my car then my car will win. I will give the staff credit as they were pleasant

Room Tip: Find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naest123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Beechwood Hotel
The Beechwood Hotel
#26 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Jacobean Hotel
The Jacobean Hotel
#20 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Hill Hotel

Property: Coventry Hill Hotel
Address: Birmingham Road Rye Hill | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coventry Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Coventry Hill Hotel is a modern hotel offering a spacious reception area, fantastic restaurant and comfortable rooms. It is situated close to the A45, which connects Coventry and Birmingham and is located just 9 miles from Birmingham Airport. If you are looking for Coventry Hotels close to the airport, this is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coventry Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing