We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd prefer something even worse than terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coventry Hill Hotel
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I cannot understand why anyone ever stays in this awful place. If I had had any choice I would have sat in the airport all night rather than remain here. It smelt at its best of those air fresheners that hang in cars or sweeten the odours in old peoples homes. The food was indescribably unpleasant, with the affectation that the 'chef' has to serve you from the gently sweating mixtures that lurk at the 'carvery'. One waits for him just a few minutes too long. What can be detaining him, he is certainly not cooking. The 24 hour service for the airport which implies you can decide when you leave is in fact an hourly shuttle, so I might as well have driven from home. How anyone manages to run a place like this in this day and age is difficult to understand. How do you present food like this with Gordon Ramsay etc on television? And who were the unfortunate people who were sitting around, they should get out more and somewhere different.

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,035 - 1,041 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Coventry Hill Hotel is IMHO the best value hotel in the Coventry area. I'm self employed and a regular guest there. All I can say is you get what you pay for. One of the three lifts works perfectly well. The wallpaper sticks to the walls superbly in several of the rooms I've stayed in (I'm working may way through most of them). Some of the furniture matches, the anticipation of will the shower trickle or torrent is quite exciting. Many of the "works of art" on the walls are breath-taking, sometimes I get to park in the unusual carpark, and the fact that you can only get 4 or 5 channels on the TV is quite nostalgic!

So I like this hotel, the staff are fantastic, the beds are fine for sleeping, the water is always hot, it is well located and is always clean, warm, safe and dry. What more do you need for an inexpensive nights stopover in Coventry?

In a nutshell the place needs to have a major full redecoration, and the lifts need to be fixed, but it is always full, busy and bustling, which says a lot for a hotel in a city with lots of choice. If this major overhaul happens, the prices will undoubtedly go up, which is not so good from my perspective, so in my opinion it's just fine as it is.

Room Tip: Get a quieter room on the highest floor, away from the main road. And use lift 1 to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macman2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

A colleague and myself visited this hotel for one night to facilitate attendance at a conference/training event nearby. All we can say is never again; dated and shabby (without the chic) poor standards of furnishings and equipment. However the worst part of the stay was the evening meal which led to both of us being violently sick within 16 hours of eating in the restaurant. A polite call to the manager, and subsequent letter, have resulted in unsatisfactory, even patronising responses. Would we recommend/stay here again- NEVER.

Room Tip: Go to another venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This hotel was part of a coach trip. Two people left and got a train home. The room smelt , was dirty, mould came out of the taps!!! When I asked the receptionist for drinking as i was not using the tap water for the kettle due to the mould I was told to buy it from the bar! We could not eat till 8pm, we were not allowed on the restaurant to sit and wait , my husband has spinal problems and we were frogged marched out by a teenager waiter, no respect for the disabled. The food had ran out, soup cold , one choice of fatty gammon, smash and stewed cabbage!! Not eatable at all. We went hungry. Break fast was cold and again best option was cold toast. Stay clear. Be warned.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

stayed at this hotel, 8th march for the night before flying out from birmingham airport early, the reception staff were great, the room was alright, with toiletries in the bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities. we had an excellent meal in the bar, the taxi picked us up on time, as we left our car there for the 2 weeks.
for what we paid both last year and this year it was well worth it,overall not top class but very good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights with friends of ours on a National Holidays trip. The old saying you get what you pay for applies to this hotel. We have read many reviews from people with high expectations for the low price they paid is unrealistic. This hotel was clean, the staff (Charlotte on Reception especially displayed excellent customer service skills and went out of her way to accomadate our last minute requests ... thank you Charlotte) helpful and efficent. The food was okay bearing in mind what we paid. We wouldn't stay here by choice for a wedding or special trip away but with a group of friends for a cheap break away this was more than acceptable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed here with the dogs for Crufts, two nights on the 8th floor in a family room. Very comfortable and warm, our bathroom shower worked OK and there was lots of hot water.
Yes, maybe the hotel could do with a little updating but apart from a damp patch on the ceiling above the window which would benefit with a coat of paint we all found it fine. As for the food - excellent choice and HOT with more items on the breakfast menu (fried bread, black pudding, mushrooms) than at other Brittania Hotels (stayed about 4 times in different ones now) and their scrambled eggs were lovely and fluffy not wet like at the other Brittania Hotels we have stayed at. Dinner the first night was lovely, succulent Roast Turkey and good/varied choice of vegetables, the following night we all had Salmon in Cheese & Parsley Sauce - really tasty and the deserts were also excellent and replenished the minute they got down to 1/2 a cake left. Will definately be staying here again - What do people want - 5* service at a 1* price ???
All in all a great experience and after all how many hotels allow dogs in these days.
We also had the room (+ Dinner / B&B) at a very reasonable rate - would have cost more for just the rooms at a Travelodge.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeGee394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
528 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
3.5 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ibis Coventry South
Ibis Coventry South
#32 of 39 in Coventry
403 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
496 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Hill Hotel

Address: Birmingham Road Rye Hill | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range: $39 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coventry Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Coventry Hill Hotel is a modern hotel offering a spacious reception area, fantastic restaurant and comfortable rooms. It is situated close to the A45, which connects Coventry and Birmingham and is located just 9 miles from Birmingham Airport. If you are looking for Coventry Hotels close to the airport, this is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coventry Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing