We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A1+++ Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coventry Hill Hotel
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A1+++ Service”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed here with the dogs for Crufts, two nights on the 8th floor in a family room. Very comfortable and warm, our bathroom shower worked OK and there was lots of hot water.
Yes, maybe the hotel could do with a little updating but apart from a damp patch on the ceiling above the window which would benefit with a coat of paint we all found it fine. As for the food - excellent choice and HOT with more items on the breakfast menu (fried bread, black pudding, mushrooms) than at other Brittania Hotels (stayed about 4 times in different ones now) and their scrambled eggs were lovely and fluffy not wet like at the other Brittania Hotels we have stayed at. Dinner the first night was lovely, succulent Roast Turkey and good/varied choice of vegetables, the following night we all had Salmon in Cheese & Parsley Sauce - really tasty and the deserts were also excellent and replenished the minute they got down to 1/2 a cake left. Will definately be staying here again - What do people want - 5* service at a 1* price ???
All in all a great experience and after all how many hotels allow dogs in these days.
We also had the room (+ Dinner / B&B) at a very reasonable rate - would have cost more for just the rooms at a Travelodge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeGee394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    191
    310
    208
    393
See reviews for
173
378
83
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for crufts. The staff at reception were rude , the shower was broken , we told the staff at reception on three occasions and it wasn't fixed . The floors in the room were dirty the so called hot breakfast was cold and the bed was the lumpiest i have ever experienced . If you don't want to be a victim then dont stay here .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AhmetLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlight
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This hotel was very disappiointing, it is dated, tired and dirty. We have bought this to the attention of the acting general manager who seems to feel and forms an opinion the standard provided is acceptable. Our view is that it was disgraceful and spoilt our weekend break in Coventry.
On arrival the external canopy had all its paint flaking from above, the bottom of steps entering the hotel had no ramp and was littered with cigarette ends.
the room allocated to us was on the fifth floor, paper was hanging off the walls, the curtains were dirty, the windows externally were filthy and difficult to see through!
Having complained we were then allocated a room on the third floor. This was slightly better but the extractor fan in the bathroom did not work and blocked with fluff. the windows and curtains were in the same state as on the fifth floor,.tap tops were missing and grouting around the bathroom was black and stained. At breakfast the dining room was in need of a major uplift particularly the patched up dirty carpet needs replacing the breakfast was not hot or fresh so we resorted to toast and coffee which we found was served from a machine a distance from the breakfast seating area. No real tea or coffee from pots. we would not use hotel or any other in its group every again.

Room Tip: there is not a room in this hotel that I would wish to be in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The hotel does need up dating and it is very tired and old. The bed was bouncy and the odd matched furniture made us giggle. I could cope with this though as the bed was clean and the price to stay for one night and parking for a week was great.

The one thing I can't cope with though is rudeness! The greeting we got from the reception was rude and unwelcoming. When I used questions about the transfers as I was filling in paperwork I was told to wait and I would be told in a minute! No pleases or thank you. As I was given all the paper work and keys I decided to drop in a hint of 'your welcome' still nothing. A smile and manners cost nothing and if you don't like your job get out and stop being rude to customers that are paying your wages!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawnie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The hotel was not as bad as some of the reviews say, our room was spotless and warm, plenty of towels .The staff were very friendly and helpfull, and the food was good, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Advertised on late rooms as special offer - reduced from £99 per night - who are they kidding, the Hotel could never get £99 per night in the memory of man - Hotel was a 60's reject - We opted for a Twin room, the Bed was really hard and "cheap" it "popped" every time we moved and the quilt was very thin and barely touched the sides. The central heating banged for 1/2 hr when it was going off and 1/2 hr in the early hours when it came on!!! 3 big patches of mold on the ceilings were just painted over! Bath was rusty and WC seat crooked and loose, Wallpaper peeling off and was about 1" too short around windows!! Carpets near lifts were filthy and lift had a mind of its own. Went to Breakfast at 9.30am but every table had dirty crockery on - waiter cleared a space for us, but it was very off putting being surrounded by dirty dishes!! Plates were cold, bacon greasy and look warm as was the Sausage, scrambled eggs were stone cold and tomatoes were just a mess - not even whole just chopped up tinned ones. Will not be returning to this or any of Britannia Hotels in the future - suggest you stay clear as there were several other well known chains of Hotel in the same area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Stayed here with some work colleagues for a week, and having got a cheap room rate on Laterooms wasn't expecting it to be brilliant, but hoping that it wasn't going to be as bad as some reviews say.

On the whole I agree that the hotel could do with a little bit of a makeover, however I don't stay in a hotel to look at the walls/carpet, I'm staying there for a good night's sleep and a decent breakfast, and I thought that they fit that bill well.

The downside for us was that working at night, the bar was always closed when we arrived back (approx 10.45pm), but understandable if no patrons are in there. The night manager is superb, he put up with us eating takeaways in the lobby, having loud chat and never once made us feel like we were imposing on the space - even when there were no other guests he still monitored the area with a smile on his face.

Bit disappointed with the breakfast staff attitude at times - were often more interested in clearing up the tables than replenishing the coffee/milk/juice side of things (especially towards the end of breakfast), and didn't appreciate walking in to find three of them seated having cups of coffee on my final morning, and then when I went to get a coffee there was virtually none left. Its the little things like that which I think spoils the overall experience.

Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis, and comfortable. Make sure you ask for the breakfast deal when you check in - cheaper than buying it in advance online. But you have to ask - its not offered to you when processing.

My other tip is that the lift closest to the vending machine doesn't seem to work properly, and that there isn't freeview, but if that's all the complaints I have then I'm happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exBackpackerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#26 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Beechwood Hotel
The Beechwood Hotel
#25 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Jacobean Hotel
The Jacobean Hotel
#20 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Hill Hotel

Property: Coventry Hill Hotel
Address: Birmingham Road Rye Hill | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coventry Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Coventry Hill Hotel is a modern hotel offering a spacious reception area, fantastic restaurant and comfortable rooms. It is situated close to the A45, which connects Coventry and Birmingham and is located just 9 miles from Birmingham Airport. If you are looking for Coventry Hotels close to the airport, this is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Coventry Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing