We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hylands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hylands Hotel
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for work with 4 others. We had a triple #38. From walking through the front doors on reception i knew i'd made a balls up. Reception man was gutted i'd got the rooms at a cheap price. So much that he tried charging me more and then tried to say we was booked in for 1 night only. The walk to the rooms was ruined by all the poor Decor, and stained, ripped and missing carpets. The room was even worse, all torn wallpaper, marks on walls, sink looked like it was from the bottom of canal, toilet never seen bleach, lino ripped and missing, shower curtain was an old window curtain, shower head was leaking and kept falling off, 3rd bed was just thrown in, carpet was stained beyond belief, window was un lockable, all ceilings stained and decor from the 60s.
Were a Decorating firm and i was tempted to leave a card or do a swap in were we paint a room for a nights accomodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigtwiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    29
    30
    235
See reviews for
48
58
50
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Can't believe hotel is open. A total joke.
Broken shower.
Filthy carpets.
Broken mirror etc etc
We had three rooms. All were flea pits.
Paid for breakfast. Four tubs of cereal and a toaster.
No bread, no milk and coffee/tea pots from the day before.
No help off staff. No refund.
Place needs to be closed down.
R hopkins and company.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This should be closed down.....a last minute necessity stay due to a change of plans.I am still trying to get the cloying smell out of our clothes and luggage.My wife commented she would have felt safer(and cleaner )sleeping on the park bench opposite.Be warned....sleep in your car or as a last resort commit a minor offence and sleep as a guest of her Majesty's finest.It would be an improvement.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wearytraveller377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

£28 for a double room for a night and you get what you pay for: musty smelling room with the rad missing from the wall. Not complaining really. just saying! Reception & bar area is very pleasant though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't smell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I guess this is one of 'you get what you pay for', the price was comparatively cheap, however there was nothing that would be in good condition in that room. 1)bathroom walls and edges were mouldy and dirty 2) bath was all chippy and dirty again, obviously I did not have courage to have a bath 3) no hair-dryer or iron 4)there was no main light, only ones next to bed 5)half of sockets did not work 6) no heating 7) weird smell 8)could hear neighbour watching tv 9)mattress was so uncomfy I could not fall asleep for half a night. I would recommend for whoever considering to stay there-just don't. For owners-please refurbish it, it is really THAT filthy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aggielin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is with out doubt the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.It was dirty with mould on the walls and around the bath.We could'nt even have a proper shower because the bracket on the wall to mount the shower head was broke.I could go on for ever but it does'nt deserve the mention its already had.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed for one night at Hylands Hotel as I had an interview in Coventry the following morning. The hotel was close to the train station so was convenient for travel. Room was absolutely freezing and I could not switch on the radiator, bathroom was in need of general repair and redecorating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank agy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
522 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#7 of 39 in Coventry
1,960 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hylands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hylands Hotel

Property: Hylands Hotel
Address: 153 Warwick Road, Coventry CV3 6AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hylands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hylands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hylands Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing