We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'd be better off sleeping in your car”
Review of Hylands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hylands Hotel
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You'd be better off sleeping in your car”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you are even faintly considering staying at the Hylands Hotel in Coventry because it is 'nice and central' all I can say is DO NOT. This is the most filthy, disgusting place I have ever set foot in and it is a disgrace that it is still open. I'm not going to waste any more time listing all the problems - it clearly had not been cleaned in what one can assume must at least be months judging by the stains on the walls and furniture, mould in the bathroom and filth on the stairs. The whole place stank and there were open electrical wires in the bedroom. We didn't bother risking what breakfast was like - if the bathroom and bedroom were considered an acceptable standard to accommodate guests I dread to think what's going on in the kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2TravelBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    32
    31
    245
See reviews for
48
62
53
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Externally the 'Hotel' looks tired and scruffy, was greeted at the reception by a polite gentleman, checked in and away to room with no problems. The corridoors do no smell particulally nice. The room size was good .. but thats about all it has in its favour.. Fresh towels and sheets which were good but the room smelt 'well used' and it was far from clean. bathroom very very tired with tiles off the wall and the sink uncleaned with somones hair shavings in it yuk! all the edges of the bath were black and the shower curtain covered in mould.
I could not recommend this hotel to anyone, there are far better budget priced rooms available in Coventry.
I think its time the Hylands was refurbished.. as its a great location for the town, but just very very tired and dirty

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inspectornumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had read the terrible reviews but decided to stay for one night due to the location, as its perfect for the Godiva festival nearby - a great location for the festival and probably more preferable than sleeping in a tent (but only just). On arrival, the reception staff were very friendly and polite and the reception/bar area seemed quite nice.
However, on entering our room it was apparent that the previous reviews were true. Although the decor was very dated and it wasn't the cleanest of rooms, we thought it would be ok for one night, until we realised that on the hottest night of the year, we couldn't open the window !! We couldn't comment on the state of the bathroom, as it was in darkness (there was no light). In fact there were no working lights in the whole room. We reported this to the receptionist, who agreed to check it out, whilst we were out (no-one did) so when we arrived back about 11pm, the room Saying that, the room was quiet (apart from a recurring tapping noise!!???) and we had a decent enough sleep, once you had removed the brown woollen blankets (complete with human hairs) from the beds !!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkov, Kharkivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Service: Staff is very friendly but bit lazy. There are only two girls which clean the rooms, but even they do not work hard. Hotel has its own entrance to Jeera restaurant, and the restaurant staff is much better.
Value: I think the cheapest one in Coventry. If you are going to stay there for a long time, you can ask for discount.
Sleep Quality: The furniture and bed linen are very old. Therefore they are dirty and sometimes with some brakes. If you have garden view, you will obtain very quiet nights, otherwise rooms with road view are not the best place to sleep.
Cleanliness: Everything except towels is dirty. Towels are clean but old and not pleasant for use.
Location: Location is the main advantage of the hotel. 2 minutes by walk to the train station, and 5 minutes to city center. Close to both universities. There is a bus station in front of the hotel.
Rooms: Rooms are big enough and consist of bed(s), desk with a mirror, tea/coffee facilities, built-in wardrobe and a shower room. There are a lot off fungus at the bath edges.
Fitness center: there is no fitness center but one can find pool table on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Choose only garden view rooms, otherwise you will hear the road sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihail_Poplavskyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you dont mind the smell of musty surroundings, are ok with shabby decor and peeling dirty walls, no hot water at bathroom sink and not much more than a dribble (although hot) coming out of the shower and a bath that is just about passable to stand in then this might be ok for you.
No remote for the tv and a hair dryer that is not working we're luxuries that I was not concerned to do without, but those of you that would be bothered by that would definitely not be happy staying here.
It was the convienient location that I needed and provided a roof over my head and a bed to sleep in but the £45 I paid was easy money for the owners. This establishment is obviously just a place to make a quick buck without needing to invest in any care and attention. A shame.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I booked in this hotel to stay a few hours because it was close to Coventry station as it was Warwick university opening day today. As soon as I was given my room keys I went into my room and was horrified. There was a strong smell of cigarettes and the room looked so damp. The bed was awful there were obvious period blood stains on the sheets. The wallpaper was vile, with horrible stains. This room was absolutely disgusting and don't get me started on the bathroom. The toilet didnt flush properly, the bathtub was filthy a tramp wouldn't even take a bath/shower in that. I wish I hadn't ever booked at this place I have had a bad allergic reaction causing red itchy spots all over my body thanks to the nasty environment. HYLANDS HOTEL IS TOTALLY INFESTED WITH GERMS I am telling everyone out there please do not book in at this hotel it will be your worst nightmare. Your much better off someplace else. This place should be burnt to the ground. Please dont waste your money on this place I have regretted it. Everyone who had to suffer at this so called hotel should sue this place, it does not meet the standard health or safety requirements. Everyone stay away from this horrible place!! The people who run this hotel are ripping everyone off, big action needs to be taken against them.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

the hotel staff were helpful, the location is great next to Coventry train station connecting to London and Birmingham. the in house restaurant was very good and cheap. the reception bar was open late. the condition of the room is acceptable but can do with modern fixtures - however very clean

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fayedhussain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#26 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hylands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hylands Hotel

Property: Hylands Hotel
Address: 153 Warwick Road, Coventry CV3 6AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hylands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hylands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hylands Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing