We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greyhound Inn

Greyhound Inn
Ranked #3 of 564 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Food very good large portions good selection of bear friendly people. Perfect location for boaters.Bar area can be a littttle crowded at times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_grumpy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    190
    25
    22
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Audlem, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food to Die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We always call in at the Greyhound when on our canal boat as it's so well renowned for it's excellent food and atmosphere. We have never been disapointed at all, and the home cooked meals and Grills are second to none. I would recomend this country pub to anyone but beware, booking is essential to ensure you're not disapointed as it is so busy it would be a shame to trave there and find out they don't have a spare table. Ring ahead and book, you'll be pleased you did!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Pub Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

A gang of friends on a boat trip stopped for Sunday lunch; in our party was a 4 year old and 2 small babies. The staff were brilliant looking after the little people, we are felt thoroughly welcome. A couple of things were off the menu, but this was explained in an apologetic manner. The food was excellent. Everybody in our party was happy with what they chose; portions were large, service was good and the beer was excellent.
Overall it was great value for money.
I will be visiting again soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DISSAPOINTING VISIT”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

recently visited this inn on basis of reviews on trip advisor. We were advised service would be slow as staff coming to grips with new menu. Waited well over an hour for service. On arrival Lasagne far to salty for my wife, unable to eat much. My beefburger dry and tough, difficult to finish. Son's Chilli very average. Overall not an experience I wish to repeat

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GMR1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faversham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good pubs will always survive ~ this is a classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I'm not sure I know what to expect from a canal side pub but on arriving at Hawkesbury Junction it all looked too picturesque and beautiful. Somehow I expected disappointment. But the pub was busy (Tuesday night), the beer was first class, the food was surprisingly varied and excellent, the staff knowledegable and efficient.
The Greyhound is a well run pub ~ increasingly, for me, the BII symbol reassures me it'll be good. Well done!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mightybighands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greyhound Inn also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing